What's Mean and Green and Hates the Wolverine! - Part One

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Good Afternoon My Comic Book Friends!


I haven't made a comic book post in a few days. I think its about time! If you remember in my last article we covered some pretty iconic Wolverine books, both for what the issues were and for some killer cover art. I alluded to there being many tribute covers that have since come out paying homage to some of these most iconic looks. We're going to take a look at a few of these in Part One, I have a lot to cover and don't want to TLDR anybody hence the split tonight.

Part Two is going to cover one of my favorite battles between the two iconic superheroes, Wolverine and the Hulk! It might not be the most famous but it gets referenced here and there in pop culture and even has had some small influence on the the Hulk's design in Thor: Ragnarok, and no, not his gladiator wear, more the lounge look!

Lets look at our first...Original!

IMG-0782.jpg

I know.....this isn't THE original...

This is one of the True Believer reprints of The Incredible Hulk issue 181. As I lamented last time, this book, for a dollar, might be the closest to owning Wolverines first appearance I will ever come.

Here are our two homage covers!

makephotogallery.net_1533598949.jpg

And coming out of two of my favorite books, no less!

On the left we have an issue 25 of Old Man Logan. No links today as this is strictly about the covers and not so much the inside. However let me tell you. I really enjoyed this story arc. It brought one of my favorite Hulk incarnations, The Maestro into the ongoing universe and pit him against the alternate Wolverine in Old Man Logan. Really good stuff here! What the hell, here's your link!

And on the right we have All-New Wolverine issue 31. This story in this book is a one off featuring Deadpool, Gabby and Jonathan the actual wolverine. It was a fun little story but not important to the overall arc. The cover of this book sticks a little close to home, especially character wise. There are no sub outs are alternate futures going on here. Just a little more of an updated art style. I'm fine with that. I'm glad Wolverine's suit evolved over the years.

Our second book was shown last time but here's a refresher!

IMG-0687.JPG

Again, featured last time...

Truly iconic this was Todd McFarlane's first work with Wolverine. It's easy to see why this is often copied, the savagery of both characters really stands out. No mistaking what's going on here!

And here are our tributes!

makephotogallery.net_1533600080.jpg

Derivative...Good or Bad? Discuss.

Here we get another look at Old Man Logan's mug with issue 2 of Weapon X. It's been a pretty solid read 20 issues or so in. Here the reflection caught is of Sabretooth as he features prominently as a member of the new Weapon X team. Greg Pak usually does a pretty good job with a book and this has been no exception. Also, this was not a variant, just a standard cover. It's nice when that kind of thing happens.

The second book displayed here is Hulk Vol. 3 issue 7 Ah, that pesky Deapool, dropping a photo-bomb. I've never read this issue so I cant speak to its contents, just picked it up for the look. And really outside of the Pool bomb it's about as faithful a representation as it comes. Post Planet & World War Hulk I believe. Really that's about all I have to say about it.

Alright everybody, thanks again for joining me. Do you have any of these homage covers? Maybe one I don't have. Do you have a favorite Hulk and Wolverine battle, maybe one that's under the radar? Let me know in the comments. I will try and push out Part Two, late tonight or tomorrow, this was supposed to be one post after all.

Thanks again for your time and attention!
@jackofcrows



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82