You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life as a Maid-of-all-Work | Comic Update #12

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

I love seeing it coloured. I'm also really into the history of the servant. One day off a week was not the norm. You were allowed half sundays where in you went to church with your employer if you lived in. Sometimes maids of all work lived out, but even in a poorer house, slept in the kitchen or a small room off the kitchen. Sometimes they had a cot set up by the stove at night (the warmest spot).

The title 'housekeeper' at the time was actually equivalent to a butler and that person was in charge of female staff and often had reached the status in a large household where she did more management than ever actual cleaning. She could have worked her way up from a maid of all work or a 'tweenie'. Housekeepers would have only been in larger upper middleclass or upperclass homes that had the money for a 'staff' whilst a bank manager or office worker in the lowest of middle class would have afforded a maid of all work. Sorry, I went overboard, I'm just a history nerd. ;)

Sort:  

No, I love your history tidbits! It's so cool to see another person so interested in the same things as me. And it's always helpful; I try to do as much research as I can but sometimes google isn't as thorough as I'd like it to be. I did see in some research that "housekeeper" was used in reference to the head female servant. But I only recently discovered the term Maid-of-all-Work which is definitely more fitting for my main character.

Thanks for reading! Keep those history facts coming :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47