You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes | Comic Update #5

in #comics7 years ago

I love the perspective and the slants you added to the panels really add interest. The spooky face with the veil...gave me chills, which is good. The historical girl in me thought, "a corset is tied in the center laced from top and bottom" but maybe that is just for particular types and only I would think that ;)

I love seeing petticotes and corsets, it really adds to the ambiance for me. Another amazing post of great progress. Well done you!

Sort:  

Thank you! I'm glad the face scared you; I feel like pulling off scaring things is especially hard to do in comics as opposed to film where things just feel more "real". And thanks for the tip! I didn't have my corset reference in front of me when I penciled that panel. I was gonna leave that for "future Theresa" to deal with. Although I do own a costumey corset, which I think does tie in the middle...I could be remembering wrong. But I'd rather go for the more historical version.

It's crazy how many layers they wore! I don't know how any of them went to the bathroom.

I do: Split Bloomers (basically crotchless big pants) Isn't that funny?

I think the reason for the tie in the middle of the corset (that is laced up from bottom to middle and from top to middle) was for two reasons 1)if you were poor and didn't have a ladies maid you could put it on (it stayed laced when you took it off, as you undid the front closures) yourself and just hook up the front. 2) if you had a ladies maid it went on the same way but if you wanted a tighter waist it's easier to get if it is lace to the middle as one person can pull both sets of strings as they are both meeting in the middle. Far more than you ever cared to know I am sure. Basically no one really undid the strings each day, you just put it on like a front closure bra but with more buttons. Hollywood invented the putting the foot on the back and pulling the strings. ;)

I was mostly joking, as it hardly matters and I am SO excited for your comic. I can't wait to see it all together!

Oh and question. Everet and Emil. I always like names like georgianna or ermentrude, but not sure they are specifically Victorian. :)

Oh yeah, I saw those. But like how does one function with a hoop skirt???

Everett is looking like it's going to win. Still a tie between Emil and Ira. But oooh I'm definitely using Georgianna.

A hoop collapses on itself. I've worn various period dress, including hoop skirts (1860s) and Bustles (1870s -80s) The 1870s lower bustle gather is one of my favourites but the full high butt late 80s bustle is interesting too. And of course I have worn a fair share of corsets. I even had handmade victorian lace up boots made in this old factory that still had the patterns from the Victorian age, I don't think they exist anymore, but it was before there were right and left shoes so you just drew your foot impression and they made each shoe to fit. I love clothing history...well I'm a history nerd for many things :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59099.74
ETH 2639.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49