You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: $11.82 Well Spent... on Comics of Course!

in #comics5 years ago

I haven't read any, but to be honest I'm only an occasional comic reader, but the last one "Books of Magic Book One" looks good and right up my alley. I love that we can have these things digitally as well, as they are easy to take along and less expensive to make (no printing) so the artists/writers can see more of the profit for their hard work (I hope at least).

Sort:  

Books of Magic is a fairly classic modern book that I need to read to feel my comics literacy is “complete!” (along with about a million other series...) It was initially conceived by well known writer Neil Gaiman (Sandman) and has been noted for the main character & basic plots similarity to Harry Potter, which Books of Magic predates. Gaiman & Rowling just drew on some of the same earlier literary influences & themes.

On the subject of comics, your black and white work always brings Mike Mignola (Hellboy) to mind for me. I imagine you may have heard the comparison before. Is he an artist on your radar? If not... I’d highly recommend exploring a bit!


C33359F4-5862-4E8B-A948-2304DC83781F.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63885.30
ETH 3142.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86