Copper Age Classic Comic - "Hey Boss!" Unauthorized Bruce Springsteen from 1986

in #comics7 years ago



"Hey Boss!" Unauthorized Bruce Springsteen (1986) by Solson Comics

Story by Philip Hwang. Art by Larry Nadolsky. Cover by Larry Nadolsky. A spoof of Bruce Springsteen, published right at the height of his Born in the USA acclaim and media oversaturation. A rock star and his bandmates deal with bad motels, rival rockers, and a dead-ringer for the immortal Archie Bunker from the All in the Family TV series. 

- Buy this comic with STEEM or Bitcoin on OpenBazaar - Buy this comic with other forms of payment on Etsy





ALSO ON STEEMIT

 * Adapted into Comic Books - Howard the Duck from 1986

 * Silver Age Classic Comics - The Mighty Thor from 1967

 * Belated NCBD: Kingpin #1 - A Quick Look Inside

Sort:  

This brings back memories! I was about 8 years old and had just discovered the world of actual comic shops, vs. just buying them at the bookstore or newsstand. My local shop ran monthly auctions in store that were fun little parties. I couldn't really afford much of the heavy bidding on my allowance!
This comic came up for bid as a bit of a gag item, and when no one else put in a bid, I scooped it up for a buck for the fun of just winning an auction lot, and a fun quirky one at that.
A couple years ago I went back and visited the store after 20+ years, and got to reconnect with the shop owner who'd been so good to me in my youth. Sadly, just a couple months later he passed away unexpectedly. I'll definitely be holding on to this comic as a memento and fun conversation piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49