Copper Age Classic Comic Book - Spider-Man from 1988

in #comics7 years ago



 Amazing Spider-Man #306 (October 1988) by Marvel Comics
"Humbugged!" The pesky Humbug is back! And the insect-infatuated villain wants to resume his research on the ESU campus! But the crazy entomologist runs into his most-reviled insect first: the Spectacular Spider-Man! Let the extermination begin! Meanwhile at Bedford Towers, Peter and Mary Jane's neighbor, Jonathon Caesar, is acting stranger and stranger...perhaps even a bit obsessive!  Writen by by David Michelinie. Art by Todd McFarlane. Cover by Todd McFarlane. 

- Buy this comic with STEEM, Bitcoin, or many other digital currencies on OpenBazaar - Buy this comic with other forms of payment on Etsy





ALSO ON STEEMIT

Sort:  

OK, this was not a Mcfarlane quality cover, but I swear I thought the Spidey logo hanging upside down in the top left corner WAS McFarlane's.

Then seeing the art inside, there was no mistaking it. Very cool, I didn't realize his work went back this far. I was pretty young at the time, 12, so I am positive that I did not know who McFarlane was at the time.

I should add this one to my list as well.

Someday I am going to cash in and contact you for some comics!

lol

Great post, thanks for sharing!

You let me know when you get your list complete and I'll be ready. Bonus info on the cover on top of being early McFarlane, he actually was doing a tribute with the cover to Action Comics #1

One more thing, that pose in the 3rd image, 2nd page, bottom right...

That is a classic McFarlane spidey right there, with his foot up next to his ear as he swings through the air.

AWESOME!

Todd McFarlane (and Erik Larsen) basically defined how to drawn Spidey swinging

It was really nice to see this Spidey pose in use, in the interior pages of a comic book from the 80's.

Good job man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59