Sort:  

I knew about DV8 when it first showed up, but at the time I just wrote it off as a Gen13 knockoff from the same company, kind of like how Marvel had not only X-Men but also X-Man and X-Force and X-Dog and X-Crement and....

The two books crossed over at least twice that I knew of, and Adam Warren used the DV8 bunch (along with much of the rest of the Image rogues gallery) as mooks in the hilariously awesome "Grunge: The Movie" arc from Gen13: Bootleg, but other than that I had no real interest in the book since it seemed like such a shameless cash-in on Image's part.

Fast-forward a few years, and a co-worker introduced me to The Authority, which kicked so much ass it should have been indicted on Gross Bodily Harm charges. The writer was some chap named Warren Ellis.

Researching what else he had written in comic-dom resulted in me facepalming so hard I gave myself a concussion when I learned he was the primary writer on DV8, which I had ignored for years and now had to acquire, damn it. :)

I never got this issue as you had to send in an order form from Wizard and by the time I learned about it, the promotion was long over, but fortunately "Cigarettes and Alcohol" was included in the first DV8 TPB, so I was able to read it and...well, what can I say? It's Ellis doing what Ellis does best: writing about a bunch of amoral sociopaths.

DV8 is a far more realistic take on what would happen if you took a bunch of moody, bored, horny 90's teenagers, gave them all mutant powers, and never bothered to set any ground rules beyond "just destroy whatever I point at". It's worth reading for Ellis's writing alone, because the man doesn't deal in ideals, he deals in what happens when your team doesn't have a Professor X or John Lynch to guide them, and it can get pretty dark.

What's not to like? Thanks for this awesome trip down memory lane, @cryplectibles! :)

Thank you for letting us all ride along your memory lane trip! Warren Ellis is quite the man. Those Gen 13 Bootleg Warren issues are going to be posted here within the month (in a short box by my feet right now to be readied for sale). I feel horrible for never having read Authority despite only hearing very good things (same with Ellis doing on Hellblazer, that is fairly high up on my 'to read' list). As much as I had my fun reading Gen 13 (and actually more Generation X than Gen 13) at times, I never got into DV8 but I like your description of it and have my curiosity piqued.

Super Cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43