Cerebus #2... one more issue to go!

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

I finally got my hands on Cerebus #2, one of the earliest indie titles I ever read.

I started with issue #16 and read it from there to the end at #300.

I have been filling in #1-15 slowly over the years. Now I just need #3 to complete my run of original issues.
Cerebus2.jpg

Cerebus is a book that many people consider to be a "classic" on indie comics. Creator Dave Sim set out to tell a 300 issue story and ultimately did just that, ending the series with #300 over 20 years after putting out #1.

The easiest way to get into Cerebus (if you're not a hard core comic book collector who needs to have the originals like me) is to read the big collected editions that they call "phone books". They're not that hard to get your hands on, Vol. 1 can be had for $18-$25 at Amazon and contains the 1st 25 issues.
https://www.amazon.com/Cerebus-1-Dave-Sim/dp/0919359086/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1534808796&sr=8-1&keywords=cerebus

The art improves drastically from #1 to #25, with Sim really hitting his stride by the end of the 1st volume.

Also, keep in mind that the 1st volume has a lot of humor/parody of Conan (Cerebus himself starting as a Conan parody) we also see Elrod (Elric), and Moon Roach (Moon Knight) and others in the first volume, including the character Lord Julius (based on Groucho Marx).

But it is volume 2 "High Society" where the series really hits its stride and becomes the book that people talk about reverently to this day, wherein Cerebus becomes Prime Minister, and then in Volumes 3 & 4 "Church & State" he becomes Pope! ...and hilarity ensues.

Sort:  

that's in pretty decent shape to! Tough to find an indy book that old at all, much less one that hasn't been put through the ringer.

Indy comics has always been my home. I wanted to get into Cerebus but the task has always seemed too monumental. With the originals, reprints, & bi-monthly titles, it was intimidating just to determine where to start. I think one day ill pick up my sock & get on this title. Good luck on issue 3!

@cutthruyou The easiest way to get into Cerebus is to read the big collected editions that they call "phone books". They're not that hard to get your hands on, Vol. 1 can be had for $18 at Amazon and contains the 1st 25 issues.
https://www.amazon.com/Cerebus-1-Dave-Sim/dp/0919359086/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1534808796&sr=8-1&keywords=cerebus

The art improves drastically from #1 to #25, with Sim really hitting his stride.
Also, keep in mind that the 1st volume has a lot of humor/parody of Conan and then superhero comics. It is volume 2 "High Society" where the series really hits its stride and becomes the book that people talk about reverently to this day.
(response edited into original post as additional useful info...)
#comics

I started with a TPB of "guys" It had a lot of charm and was petty far into the series where they really had the art and weird expressive handwritten fonts working together.

I sold my #1 about a year ago. It was a low grade copy but was still pretty awesome to have. I was never going to complete the run so I hope it found a better place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45