April 2019 Previews Catalog Recomendations

in #comics5 years ago

So, I got super-psyched for the Previews this month. The Side Two cover features a new comic from Titan based in the Blade Runner universe, Blade Runner 2019. Unfortunately, it is just a teaser for a solicit next month. :(

Here are my recommendations and thoughts for the April 2019 Previews Catalog for items generally shipping in June of 2019. The @campuscomicscast will be discussing this issue of Previews in an upcoming #podcast which should be posted to your favorite #podcast app around Friday April 12, 2019. And if you have a book you think I should be looking at, please let me know in the comments!

If you are looking for back issue comics, be sure to check out the Burg Comics page on eBay at https://stores.ebay.com/burgcomics. If you see something you like, feel free to contact me on my web site at https://www.burgcomics.com. I can also accept Bitcoin and Steem in non-eBay transactions. Thanks for reading!

DC

dc.png

1 - Event Leviathan 1 - I have very fond memories of the Bendis/Maleev team-up on Daredevil, so I might actually give this a try.

2 - Superman Year One. First of 3 issues from DC's Black Label by Frank Miller and John Romita Jr. I think Miller has a unique view of Superman based on his portrayal in the Dark Knight trilogy of stories. However, I am not a fan of JRJR's art on Superman.

12 - Batman 72 and 73. Tom King. Just read it.

20 - Deathstroke 44. Deathstroke dead? Must be fallout from the Teen Titans Deathstroke crossover book.

23 - Detective 1006. I really like the effect of the Bat-Signal displaying on the Specter's chest. However, I am not sure about the Specter's 8 to 12 pack abs he has.

39 - Naomi 6 - Final issue of the first season. No indication early on this book was going to be presented in seasons. All of the Wonder Comics books are now listed as 6 issue series except Young Justice.

45 - Silencer 18. Final issue of the series. The only DC New Age of Heroes book left is the Terrifics which solicits issue 17 this month.

50 - The Wild Storm 24. Final issue of this series as well.

57 - Absolute Dark Knight II: The Master Race. Complete series including mini-comics but pricey at $125.

62 - Crisis on Infinite Earth Box Set - What do you get the Crisis fan that already has everything? I guess this for $500.

65 - Flashpoint Box Set - I actually enjoyed the Flashpoint series. It was fun to see different takes on some of DC's established characters.

70 - Joker TPB - In trade paperback for the first time and now under the DC Black Label imprint.

77 - Y: The Last Man Omnibus - Michael Atchison once asked me if I had read this series. When I told him no, I could feel his complete and utter disappointment in me pushing down on my shoulders. I have now read the first 5 trades. Very solid story and allegedly optioned for a TV series.

78 - Mister Miracle TPB. the Mister Miracle trade, now with the Black Label as it probably should have been on initial release.

Marvel

marvel.png

2 - 26 comics for War of the Realms

27 - Black Cat 1 has a J Scott Campbell cover

28 - New Silver Surfer 5 issue series from Donny Cates. I think artist Tradd Moore was the artist on the random Silver Surfer Annual 1 released a few months ago.

31 - probably my favorite Incredible Hulk team of Peter David and Dale Keown are back on the book. Just a one-shot so probably will not tie-in well with Immortal Hulk.

32- Immortal Hulk 19, I just started the first trade, and so far it is pretty good.

34 - Captain America 12 continues the Ta-Nehisi Coates and Adam Kubert run.

36 - Some good $1 True Believers including Amazing Spiderman 1, Marvel Team-up 141 which ties for the first black suit appearance, 1st Morbius, and first Mysterio.

43 - Spiderman Life Story 4. On the other issues, I felt I could tell which Spidey story and what decade influence they were referencing on the cover. I am not sure on this one. Any suggestions?

57 - Black Panther 13 has a really nice David Mack Captain America variant cover. Not sure why this isn't a Captain America variant cover though.

69 to 71 - It is the Rob Liefeld game. 3 different covers, how many pairs of feet? One.

70 - So apparently Major X #1 sold out.

90 - Star Wars Galaxy's Edge 3. This series is based on the new Disney theme park.

104 - Daredevil by Frank Miller Box Set Slipcase. so, pretty much all the Daredevil and Elektra stories in one spot. A bit pricy at $250.

108 - OK, I joke a lot about Rob Liefeld, but I actually do generally like his art. However, they chose quite possibly the worst ever drawing of Captain America to ever grace the cover of a book for this cover.

109 - If you are like me and missed Immortal Hulk from the start, here is your chance to pick up the story from the beginning.

121 - The first trade for the new Marvel Conan the Barbarian series. We generally liked the series premiere by Jason Aaron, so I plan to read the trade.

Side One

sideOne.png

28 - Previews. Get your copy to play along.

Image

44 - Thumbs 1. Well, they reference Blade Runner in the solicit, so I am probably in. Includes a 4 page preview. I am not crazy about the art.

IDW

132 - Usagi Yojimbo gets a new issue 1 at his new home at IDW.

Dynamite

196 - Dreadstar Rare Limited Definitive Editions Signed by Jim Starlin. If you are looking to get a Jim Starlin signature, this is a pretty good deal at $30.

Boom

217 - Abbott TPB - Randomly learned of this book on some best of 2018 web list. Solid story and art about a reporter dragged into apparently racially motivated crimes with an occult twist.

Devil's Due

299 to 300 - Mercy Sparx 13. This issue features a retailer incentive cover by none other than Douglas Paszkiewicz who can be found here on Steemit at @arseniclullaby. So contact your local comic shop and ask them to order this variant cover for you. Then if you are really into it, head to Burg Comics Con 2019 on Saturday August 31, 2019 to meet Douglas in person and have him sign your copy. https://www.burgcomics.com for details.

Gemstone Publishing

317 - Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide 49. Covers this year include Batman's Rogue Gallery, Firefly, and Zorro

Humanoids

322 - Ignited 1. Humanoids first super-hero ongoing series written by Mark Waid and art by John Cassaday. Looks like a solid start to me.

Titan

367 - Doctor Who, The Thirteenth Doctor 9. Fans of the show should be reading the comic.

Side Two

sideTwo.png

106 - DC Deck-building Game: Rebirth. Twist on the pretty good DC Deckbuilding game.

Blank Covers

blank.jpg

Black Cat 1
Silver Surfer Black 1
Robotech 21
Psi-Lords 1
Street Fighter 2019 Pinup Special

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05