You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Arsenic Lullaby Blog- Captain Marvel is not a 20 something, white, blonde, with a flat ass

in #comics5 years ago

I held my breath at the title... but I’m glad your rant veered toward wanting to see the Monica Rambeau Captain Marvel in the MCU vs. the garden variety comicsgate trolling the film is enduring already.

Truthfully, I haven’t read much of Captain Marvel/Ms. Marvel but I think a lot of the fresh love and interest in the character comes from her being reshaped in recent years and given a much more solid identity. I know our own resident Captain Marvel fanatic @readingdanvers will disagree with a lot of the “anti Danvers sentiment” espoused here, but would absolutely agree that the character was often horribly written in her history as she’s detailed some of those horrendous plot lines in her blog.

I’m sure if there ever was a decision between possible Captain Marvels, it came down to Danvers having a longer history, much more current comic visibility, and given the “controversy” already stirred up... maybe just wanting to tackle one diversity hurdle at a time.

I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I did see one minor spoiler that a young Monica is introduced. So, we can only hope perhaps the seeds are sown to bring your Captain Marvel to the screen in the future!

Sort:  

That's not much of a spoiler ( I haven't seen the movie) it's been mentioned a lot.
Carol Danvers was always a hollow shell of a character who changes dramatically depending on what's in the coffee and who's writing her than day. Her most important role was getting thrown off a bridge by Rogue, hahaha #comics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33