Perceptions

in #comics5 years ago

Occasionally, I take selfies with our comic books and post them on our social media. I have autonomy over my own body and what I feel comfortable/not comfortable showing. Anyways, when I post pictures like this there's always at least one creeper comment. I've learned to ignore them. I leave the comments up so people can see what these creeps say. Usually the comments are asking, "who is this gorgeous woman?" or some crap like that. :::eyeroll:::

This time around, someone commented on it stating, "She's someone's daughter you perv!" and suddenly, the person's comment was gone. It didn't even give me the opportunity to say, "Hey, I'm the owner!" but it made me think, why relate it to "someone's something?" I am a woman. I am a mother. I am a wife. I am a daughter. I am a minority. I am a woman. I am a business owner. I am my own something before I am someone's anything.

I'm not offended by either comment, it just made me think more about these types of situations and the way I am perceived. I could probably go off on random tangents and deeper but I'll leave it at this for now.

20200118_163103.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72