Some Tasty Graded Comics...

in #comics6 years ago

1B121057-52D5-4BDE-B443-487A32BDDD08.jpeg

As the UPS guy slammed my packages down on the ground today without a care in the world, I got excited at one specific box. It was from the comic grading company CGC and contained 2 of our books we recently sent out.

The first is Iron Man #1. This puppy came out in 1968 and while not the first appearance of the man in the metal suit, is the #1 on his very own title. A sweet Silver Age book to own. Always a nice addition to a collection. The book was already in decent shape and after a quick press, came back an 8.0. Those roughly fetch between $800-$1000 in this grade. This one was obtained when a customer and friend named John, sold us some books in his collection as he was slimming down his clutter. He sadly passed away from cancer 2 years back. Miss ya John.

0DB5E6A2-BCC4-4AFF-AEB9-464203E0769C.jpeg

The other book we got back in this shipment is the one I was truly excited for. Adventure Comics #247. This lovely book was released in April of 1958. This, is a Golden Age book. Books from this timeframe do not show up often, and when they do are usually not in great shape...nor are they a big mega key like this is. This is the first appearance of the Legion of Superheroes. I truly have a ton of faith in this book as I think it’s severely undervalued. I honestly believe this book will shoot up to the moon in the coming years as more people realize just how hard it is to find a nice copy of it...let alone if they actually do something with that property. We received this with a stack of other books that we bought sight unseen for $175. This came back a 5.5 and In that grade could fetch around $4000. Not too shabby. I think that could easily double in the coming years. We shall see. I’d like to hang onto it unless we got an offer we could not refuse.

356C32F4-D0E7-4FBC-A487-86AEEF818302.jpeg

Thanks for taking a look with me folks! Until next time!!!

Sort:  

Was that Adventure Comics title one that you featured in one of the posts you did highlighting your pressing efforts? It looks familiar, and I know I don't have a copy.

Yup! That’s the one!!! I thought I did a quick piece on that. Good memory!

Thanks. By the sounds of it, your late friend John would be happy that the Iron Man book has been graded and will find a home with a true collector to enjoy in future as well.

Yeah John was a good dude. Best thing is he worked at the rival comic shop in the town next to us. He would come to us to hang and talk shop as that kinda stuff doesn’t happen there. I definitely miss him. Eventually that Iron Man will make its way into a good collectors home. For now it’ll just hang back and be a part of the shop.

howdy sir blewitt! hey howya doing? I don't know squat about comics but do they encase those in plastic after they grade them? and where is the grading place at? I found this to be a very interesting post.

Yeah there are a few grading companies but the main one is CGC. Located in Florida, you can either send through mail, or drop off at a convention they are set up at. They have professional graders that are super hardcore and they assign a grade. The closer to 10 the better. You cannot open it again though as it’s sealed in the case. I’ll do a proper more detailed how to and about post regarding this topic that I’ll tag you in.

oh how interesting, wouldn't that be a fun job?

Yeah I hear that these guys go through insane training to be professional graders. Nutty

sir blewitt! do you have any idea what kind of training that would be? I mean insane training sounds like the the Seal team or something! lol.

To be honest I am not sure on the training. Seal school...lol

https://www.cgccomics.com/grading/

There is a little link to the site explaining a bit about it if you are bored and want to take a peek around to learn a bit more.

thank you sir blewitt!

Anytime brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78