Sabrina the Cancelled Witch

in #comics6 years ago

7246122D-AC17-45FC-A28A-9DF1B0A41197.jpeg

I know next to NOTHING about Sabrina but when I saw this jaw dropping piece of art I knew I had to have it in my collection. The comic...not the original art (I tried and it was sold already). This is done by one of my favorites in Adam Hughes.

3FCB248F-3F41-489C-98E3-311FD08F4188.png

Archie Comics had slated a Sabrina The Teenage With One Shot Special at the end of 2016 for a release date in 2017. There were to be several different variant covers...this being one of them. I first saw it on Adam’s twitter I believe and I immediately contacted his wife Allison, who handles his accounts in the hopes to buy the original art but was told that someone sadly beat me to it. I resigned myself to just owning the comic when it came out as the rest of his fans throughout the world would have to do. Sad...I know. #firstworldproblems

Too bad Archie ruined that plan as well as a few months later as the book was supposed to be released.....

F42F3C99-5A44-4B07-87CB-4E82A9CE6188.jpeg

What the?!?!? I spoke with Allison about it and she’s couldn’t give me any details as to why the book was cancelled. Either way, lots of fans were disappointed. I even contacted Archie to see if I could use that cover for an upcoming store exclusive and they gave me the runaround. Damn you Archie...

Here was the initial solicitation through Diamond Comics describing the brief synopsis.

E0605C56-B7A1-4308-9C2D-2919D1A8A409.jpeg

One of these days I’ll do a detailed write up of the time Adam came to our shop for a 2 day signing event. Still one of my favorite highlights from the 10 years I’ve owned my shop.

19921BB7-7329-4555-8550-6C5CD7BD14FA.jpeg

Sort:  

Wait you are telling me that you have never seen the Sabrina the Teenage Witch TV show with Melissa Joan Hart? What were you doind during 90's?

...but have you seen this one?

SabrinaWitch.jpg

Is this the one, where she uses her ear to cast minor magic spells?

Is this the one, where
She uses her ear to cast
Minor magic spells?

                 - angry0historian


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oh I knew about the show but I watched a combined...ZERO seconds of it. I never watched Pokemon, DBZ, Power Rangers, Sabrina, Buffy...I’m 38 and I think all those properties just missed my age range. Or I was doing dumb shit like playing street hockey, manhunt, and playing video games. Lol

You are a one strange man, mr. Blewitt.

I used to watch this show for a while in the 90s @blewitt think it was on the Disney channel.

Yeah I never watched it but always saw the commercial spots for it.

That is an awesome piece.

Absolutely stunning. Shame it was never released.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87