Rare Superman Comic Books Walk into my Shop

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

2A6D3A01-EB68-43DC-B8E9-20431A5C0365.jpeg

Owning a comic and toy store...cool crap walks through the door fairly often. People bring in stuff to show of food or try to sell almost daily. That’s why I love when I see stuff like this.

A guy walks in an asks if I can give an opinion on a few books he had. I said sure and he whipped em out. He pulls out an Action Comics 18, an Action Comics 39, and a Superman 2. All is delicious condition. Think about that. Superman 2 came out in September of 1939!!!! Anyway, He proceeds to tell me the following.

Years back his grandfather bought a bunch of old Superman and Action Comics books from this time frame. He divided them up and all the kids in the family received 3 random books to do with what they wished. He said there were like 7 or 8 kids that got them. Guessing brothers and sisters or cousins. I didn’t ask. He said that a couple of the kids sold them a little while back, a couple still had them, and he didn’t talk to one. I asked if he knew which books were in the lot that got split amongst the kids and sadly he didn’t. I was hoping to hear an Action 1 but he truly had no idea and didn’t even seem super dazed when I was describing rough values. He just said he was thinking of getting them “put in those plastic things” to put away for his kids. So I described the grading process. I asked to take pics which you see here. He was supposed to come back later in the week to send em away through my shop but I never saw him again. I hope he did somewhere though. It’s nice to think about how this gentleman wanted to put them aside for his kids. To have something mega awesome. I also hope he reached out to the family that still had theirs and shined a little light on potentially what they could have sitting in a box somewhere. Ah well...until the next kick ass thing walks in...

446983C2-11CA-44E0-A001-0B6394CF317F.jpeg

94417F45-5265-4CE2-9A5F-871601AB0C73.jpeg

391C899A-44C5-4CA7-BB54-D0B687883291.jpeg

I got lots of interesting stories and news to share. So pull up a seat, click that follow button, and let’s nerd it out together.

Sort:  

GAWD.
DAMN!

I'd have been scared just to look at them, much less put my hands anywhere near 'em. Those are some beautiful-condition copies of those issues right there. :)

Yeah they were in amazing conditions. The colors popped and they smelled amazing. Kinda a weird thing to say but most of the time I get older stuff in it smells like a dank basement. These smelled lovely. Lol

Glad you did the right thing and explained the guy the grading process and so on.
You will definitely get more of this bliss moments!
Just to know what's the value of the comics you mention?

To be honest I don’t temember what I thought they would possibly grade at. This was like 2 years ago sadly. I just found the pics in my phone as I’m looking for cool things to post about and these were there. I wish I had a way to get in touch with him. To see what he did with them, if anything at all. My guess? They are sitting in those exact plastics still somewhere. He at least knew they were worth something and was taking care of them. He just didn’t seem overly thrilled with the grading process and didn’t seem fazed with its value...whatever I told him he could expect.

Freakin’ awesome indeed. Look at the condition of these beauties !! And the strength of the colors...

Keep up the great work. One more tip — would suggest getting in the habit of upvoting others’ posts too, even if you don’t see much of an effect. You’ll eventually start getting returns from those to boot, especially from the posts that end up doing really well. : ) As long as you have a decent amount of Steem Power to spare (visible at your steemd.com/@username), which recharges automatically !

Good point. I kinda went crazy the first 2 days on here and upvoted a massive amount of crap...not fully understanding that it wasn’t great to do that. I was clueless. Lol. So I was kinda waiting a few days to get back into that as to “recharge” a bit so my vote wasn’t completely worthless. But I guess as long as I do a few a day it shouldn’t hurt...right?

That's an Honest reponse I appreciate that! Let's hope they don't get in Lex hands! pam pam pam(dramatic sound)

Congratulations @blewitt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65989.03
ETH 2622.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65