Lion-O, & Spideys & Joker...Oh My!

in #comics6 years ago

It was just 2 weeks ago that I posted about UPS delivering 7 gigantic statues to our shop. They have sadly been sitting as I haven’t had the space nor the time to tackle it as it would be a couple hour endeavor. The pieces come straight from Sideshow Collectibles...one of the leaders in the industry. High end statues, props, & replicas are big business and in the past decade has grown leaps and bounds. The problem with Sideshow pieces is that they are hugmongeous and eat up a ton of real estate in the shop. With over 1250 statues already on display, new space is a commodity we are currently running a bit thin on.

image

This required some thinking and crafty maneuvering, but I’ve played this game before so I was ready for the challenge. First things first...box up the large pieces that customers are paying off on layaway. Yup! We offer payment plans and on high end statues, it’s usually the preferred method. It allows the buyer a bit of breathing room and time to pay it off. We “try” our best to keep folks to a strict schedule but 95% of the time that goes straight out the window and we end up having to chase folks which is insanely frustrating. Regardless, I ran through the book and spotted 3 pieces that we could box up which would create some new spots.

So that’s the first thing we did. I had my business partner Pete help me box up a Sideshow Daredevil Premium Format, a Grey Hulk Premium Format, and a Bowen Designs Thanos on Throne Statue that folks were in the process of paying off. The Hulk is huge so I was happy to box that up. The Thanos was an Exclusive that was difficult to get. You had to be a member of Bowen’s Club to be able to buy that around 7 years back. That piece is wicked and it’s going to a great home. A new couple started coming in recently and they are tying the knot next month. Wifey is buying it for the hubby as a gift. Sounds like a keeper to me!!!

image

Ok. So now for the fun part. I’m going to run through these somewhat quickly as there are 7 of them and I’m going to let the pics speak for themself mostly in showing em off.

First one I inboxed was the Mark Books Spider-Man. Cool piece and a relatively small base for a Sideshow piece. Actually like the base of webs a ton on this. We ended up with number 46/1250. A mere $390 bucks and it’s all yours!!!

image

image

image

image

image

Next up we had Lion-O from the Thundercats. Awesome sculpt but simple base. I believe this is the first tatie we’ve ever had of him. A few various figures have come and gone...but not a statue. I actually sold a San Diego Comic Con Exclusive Lion-O Figure a couple of weeks back. Anywho...we snagged 242/800 on this piece. It’s gonna set ya back $435 buckeroos.

image

image

image

image

image

This one has by far the coolest base I’ve seen in a while. It’s another Spidey piece but this time it’s Miles Morales! (You see the animated film yet?!? No?!? Quit being a lazy piece of shit and go watch it...fucker won a Oscar!!!) The base pieces together and forms basically the Ultimate Venom. It looks stellar and different and I personally love it. I also appreciate its compact size. We got number 65/1000. $520 dollar bills will allow you to walk home with this right now!

image

image

image

image

image

image

Next up?!? The Man Without Fear!!! I’m talking about this blind ass maniac, Daredevil! Cool piece. Nice paint job. Cool yet odd shaped base. We are rocking number 128/1500. This will run ya $560 clams.

image

image

image

image

image

Look at this sexy ass piece. Who doesn’t love Wonder Woman?!? Beautiful sleek piece with a cool base that is basically a winding staircase with flames. Straight up 🔥!!! Wonder Woman must be a huge seller compared to the others as it has a higher run. We got 222/5000. $550 delicious dollars to bring this beauty home with ya.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Real quick...when I was putting it together I didn’t like how the torso connected. Seemed a bit weird and out of sorts. It wasn’t until my business partner took a closer look at it the next day and notice that I’m a complete moron. I forgot to add the belt that connects it properly. This piece goes here. Fixing it tomorrow...

image

image

Almost done folks...hang tight. I’m on Magneto right now. Big piece. Cool base of a crushed up Sentinel head. I dig it. We are fresh out of Magneto statues so it’s a welcome addition over “another Batman”. Number 50/2500 over here. $740 beams and it’s yours.

image

image

image

image

image

Finally, behold this awesome Joker piece. A bunch of tiny pieces on this one. Displaying these pieces with all sorts of tiny add on’s get me nervous. Even though we have a bunch of signs asking folks NOT to touch...you guessed it...they don’t care...are stupid...or are illiterate. We got 140/1500. Retail is $625 bucks.

image

image

image

image

image

I managed to end up fitting all 7 pieces in a few new spots. I had to get a bit creative and rearranged some others to create new books and crannies for me to jam these into, but I made it work thankfully.

Anyway, they are all in their temporary home until some mope comes in and takes 11 months to pay off the 2 month layaway. 😜

Thanks for looking folks!!!

Blewitt

Sort:  


I wanna be rich... for a little love, peace, and statueness...

Holy shit that video is horrendous. Lol

On a totally different note, I was humming and singing the chorus of this a few days back. Totally weird. Must have heard it somewhere.

I don’t think you need to hear the song to get it stuck in your head. Anytime you think, ”Dammit, I wanna be rich!” (which if you’re like me is quite frequent...) that tune just pops in your mind. Such is the ironing & weight lifting evil genius of Calloway!

Get some sleep!! Serious question, aren't you hurting the resale value by not being NIB? Something that's factory new and not collecting dust/out in the elements is technically "used" right? Really cool figures. The market for these are nuts.

What is this sleep you speak of?!?

No not on statues...they are made to be displayed so they leave the boxes just to be resealed and then on and on the cycle goes. Funny how statues are kinda the exception to the rule. Collectors are full of the dumb!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

That Lion-O statue is awesome. Takes me back.

Yeah and they do not make enough really cool Thundercats mercy these days so it’s cool to see...especially in statue form!!

You got a 19.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @blewitt! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65578.21
ETH 2613.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67