Steemit Exclusive / Sneak peak - Kids cartoon pitch/storyboards pitch

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

A while ago I get contacted by a certain cable network, who was looking for a new kids cartoon ( 5-10 year olds) and wanted to know if I had a pitch to show them. They wanted something in a month.

NOW...as you may know by now...I don't traverse in material that's super suited for kids. Unless maybe the kids are really screwed up and are already well on their way to a life of crime. AND I also put a painstaking amount of time and thought into my work.

So, a kids cartoon pitch in a month?

"No problem, I'll have something ready for you!"

What am I gonna say? No?

To quote Peter from Ghostbusters "when someone asks you if you're a god, you say ...YES"

I put something together with the help of my friend, comedian Josh Goguen (who I am trying to get onto this site...he'll come around). and honestly, it didn't turn out half bad! Oh course, I'm not the best judge of what is appropriate for kids, or what is or isn't funny when something is rated G.

They liked it too, but took a pass on it for whatever reason. How knows how many people had to look it over or what, or why or what tone they had in mind. (shrug) What get's picked up and what doesn't is pretty random and arbitrary as near as I can tell. On a different occasion (for a show with an age group more appropriate to my work) I sent around 2 dozen short comic stories to Comedy Central...they picked the one I did at the last minute just to make it an even number...they thought it was great. It was pretty good, but there were others I sent that I liked better. As much as comedy writing is a skill, it's still in the eye of the beholder to a certain extent... I just make with the funny and let the people who job it is to cull stuff do the deciding.

But it was fun to pitch something and it's getting shopped around at another place, so it may still find a home. If it does, you'll have been the first to see it in it's fetal stage!
n YNEproch2.jpg

n YNE figs.jpg

boardsimages1.jpg

boardsimages2.jpg

boardsimages3.jpg

boardsimages4.jpg

boardsimages5.jpg

boardsimages6.jpg

boardsimages7.jpg

boardsimages8.jpg

That's pretty much it. The was a character sheet and I think 6 episode/story synopsis-es but those aren't great visuals.

Next time, back to my normal degenerate dark humor...but I thought it'd be fun to give you something I haven't shown elsewhere.

Later

www.arseniclullaby.com

Sort:  

Nice work .. just amazing
The picture is really creative, well done
Thanks for sharing..

Thanks! Good to hear that you liked it.

With the long horns it looks a bit more like a devil to be honest ;)

Hi arseniclullaby,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Wow, this one was very interesting. I have a dream of making storyboards,(preferably to one of my own script :D) and there's nothing better than seeing it well done to learn ho to do it. I love the characters, they look like people (and yeti) I'd like to get to know.

I wouldn't use mine as a pro template, I only had a month to come up with the whole mess, haha. In the end though, getting the point across is what's most important. No one with a brain's going to turn down a good concept because the storyboards are the wrong ratio.

Very interesting concept. Can't wait to see if it gets picked up by someone. Good luck.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Monday/Early Tuesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Cool! Thanks a lot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55