Arsenic Lullaby -short comic - Old Man Hutchenson / project Black Widow

in #comics6 years ago

Throw back Thursday! Which is a good excuse to post up an older story featuring a character I like a lot but never use anymore. This story's over ten years old...maybe older, and since then I've seen character designs similar enough that I lost interest in drawing him, and for awhile there it seemed like his premise/reason the government was using him was going to seem out-dated. Like when you see an old sc-fi movie and they are talking on telephones attached to the wall. BUT...strangely enough, technology has come to the point where his reason for existing kinda makes even more sense than when I first wrote it. You'll understand what I'm talking about after you read it.

12al6.jpg

12al7.jpg

12al8.jpg

12al9.jpg

12al10.jpg

12al11.jpg

12al12.jpg

12al13.jpg

12al14.jpg

12al15.jpg

12al16.jpg

12al17.jpg

Also I think I've seen that punchline of the black widows babies used as an actual horror movie in recent years (or maybe I dreamed I did?)...I'd call that more of two different minds coming up with the same idea. It's not anything super ingenious, just a fairly clever juxtaposition.

anyways, since my ego can't bear just posting older work and having you leave with that impression of my illustrating skill...here's couple commissions I did a while back. They are recreations of old golden age comic book covers, with Arsenic Lullaby characters used in place of the originals.

30.jpg

pg32.jpg

I've got another story featuring Hutchenson and the Alien Centaurs for you soon, but...
NEXT TIME ( now that I have some pesky website problems squared away) The INKTOBER INKING CONTEST

the tags list on Steemit is generated by code...which puts tags up there based on ONLY popularity of use. You will notice that #comics does not exist there...yet. So I ASK THAT YOU USE #comics ON EVERY COMMENT YOU LEAVE ON MY BLOGS

STMTBannerscrawl.jpg

You can see me in November in Michigan!

GR18short.jpg

Sort:  

My god those Voodoo Joe commissioned covers are amazing! I freakin love them.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thanks for checking out my work! #comics

Very interesting and surreal tale. Awesome work, many thanks for sharing!

Thanks! #comics I try to keep things interesting around here

haha that was hilarious. Especially the "who do we hate now" ending. Spot on. Read like one of the funny x-files episodes.

hahaha, yeah and he just goes out to chuck rocks at his own house because...when in Rome #comics

Hehehe that super small soldier is like the story of ant man combined with deadpool 2. Perhaps they read your comics for inspiration? ^^
                       
And alas, poor black widow.            
                       
#comics

I saw that black and white clip in Ant man...and I was just about to start animating this one the same way for a youtube cartoon >:/ #comics

Love your very dark humour, as always, Doug <3

#comics

#comics glad I'm still getting the job done! #comics


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wonderful, thanks for sharing my #comics !

I dig the old guy. Telling old stories, "your dad is Irish!" Ha! Thats good stuff there. #comics

haha, thanks! I like that line a lot. #comics

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66984.34
ETH 2607.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66