MoonGirl and Devil Dinosaur and why she's my favorite SuperHero!

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

My favorite Superhero of course is none other than.... Lunella Lafayette aka MoonGirl. First and foremost she is the most inspiring superhero out there. As a NYC Public School Teacher, I have introduced Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur to my 6th-8th grade students, who have totally embraced her character and look forward to the monthly read-alouds and issue reviews. Besides my love for her from an educational standpoint, she has even inspired my family. Since 2015, my wife and niece have also been so captivated by Lunella and DD, that we as a family decided in 2016 to cosplay the whole MGDD crew @ NYCC2016. . I, of course played Devil Dinosaur, while my wife dressed as Moongirl (in full garb) and my 8 year old niece went as Lunella (in full garb) We had the time of our life's. We were able to meet our favorite creative team in Amy, Brandon, and Natacha!! They crowned us "The Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Super Fan Family" (see attached) and published our meeting through photos in the Letters page of MGDD issue #16.
Moon Girl's power set of using her BRAINS is something that stands out to me as an educator and her abilities are not that far-fetched especially if you have met a child prodigy or students who are Gifted and Talented. Her failures to build healthy relationships with people her age and the angst of growing up as an adolescent in NYC makes for such a fantastic read. The fact that Marvel had the guts to make a spunky 9 year old African-American female the "Smartest of Them All" hit home in the best possible ways. What you end up with is Representation, Inspiration and Motivation mixed in with some roller skates with springs, a mechanical boxing glove, goggles, a utility belt complete with a omni wave projector, and finally a massive DEVIL DINOSAUR as her pet. What's better than that?? Don't agree? Read the 1st tradepaperback and then check back with me. You shall be converted.

P.S. An animated series is in the works so for those of you who are visual/audio learners. You shall soon be converted to!!
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur Rules!!!
mgdd.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49