Does the Future of the DCEU look promising?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #comicbookmovies7 years ago (edited)

The DCEU (DC Extended Universe) just released their latest film, "Justice League". While the previous DECU film, "Wonder Woman" was a smash hit with the critics, "Justice League" left a lot to be desired. I have asked myself why this is. I really want the DCEU to succeed. I have always loved DC comics, and seeing this pages come to life on the big screen is a small slice of heaven for me. I loved the Nolan trilogy of Batman films, and the DC Original Animated films have always been incredible. However, with the DECU, my feelings have been mixed. There are many things I like about the films...and there are many things I do not.

I think the rough start of the DCEU is due to a couple of major factors:
(1) They are way behind. Marvel started their Cinematic Universe (MCU) in 2008 with Iron Man. Since then they have 17 films (currently released) and multiple television shows. All of these shows and movies are connected and are able to tell one giant story together. However, for DC they have had to scramble at the last minute to try and tell deep story lines, with multiple characters in a span of two or three films. Take Dawn of Justice for example. The film introduces us to Batman, Wonder Woman, The rest of the Justice League (briefly), Lex Luthor, and reconnects us with Superman. There is almost too much character development that needs to happen here...and it doesn't. And for the story arcs they tried to blend "The Dark Knight Returns" with "The Death and Return of Superman"....a dangerous and bold decision which did not turn out well. It's not enough that are introducing new characters and pitting Batman against Superman...but now they bring in Doomsday too? Not a good move in my opinion. You see, there's too much crammed into the film, because the DCEU is trying to play catch up. They have to tell as much story as they can in as little time as possible.

(2) Zack Snyder. I think the guy is one of the biggest problems in the DCEU films. I don't think he understands storytelling very well. He claims to be a huge fan of the comics, but then he seems to take two or three random story arcs, chop them up, mix them up, and reassemble them in random places. Dawn of Justice is one example of a choppy plot, but it happens again in Justice League as well. It also happens in a massive way in a previous film he directed..."Watchmen". I think these films suffer from his poor direction and storytelling.

Ok....I think that is everything I wanted to say about the DC Extended Universe. I really do want the best for them, and I hope they find a lot of success with their upcoming films.

Sort:  

Nice Post keep it up, please follow me and upvote for me and i will return the favor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62