Character Design - Adeline (The Captain) for Tugboat Comic

in #comic6 years ago (edited)

Hey guys!
This is the first post in a series of how I designed the characters for a comic I'm working on. I hope you enjoy!

tugboat comp.jpg
Tugboat is a comic that can be read from the beginning here: https://zserbin.wixsite.com/tugboat/home/category/chapter%201/page/14

The comic is a collaboration between myself and writer Hailey Koart. Adeline is the main character, the captain, and very near and dear to our hearts. She's also a bit of a human disaster.

This post shows some of the work done to develop her character properly so that I have plenty of consistent reference while working on the comic itself. Usually this designing happens before any production begins.

First, here is how Adeline looked in the very first drawing of her - the drawing that inspired the entire comic!

original ad.jpg
Not super exciting, sort of a boring pose with no expression. I was happy with the colors, but she felt too serious. We wanted the captain to be goofy, and her design should reflect that.

And here's how she looks now, after a year of practicing, playing, and perfecting her design:

adeline.jpg
The final design is rounder, more stylized, and allows for more expression. She looks a lot sillier, which is the most important part.

After that, I draw a turnaround - a 360 view of important angles. In this case, I drew front-facing, 3/4, profile and back-facing poses (her design has actually changed a bit since her initial turnaround was done).

CharacterSheet_Adeline.jpg

And then it's just practice! Throwing the character into different expressions and action poses to find out what's working and what isn't.

CharacterSheet_Adeline3.jpg

CharacterSheet_Adeline2.jpg

So that's about it! Mostly just practice until it feels right - which is easier said than done, but it's the most fun in my opinion.

Thanks for reading!
I hope you enjoyed checking this out, and I'm happy to answer any questions!

Sort:  

Amazing! those are the posts I love...thanks for sharing, again: splendid characters!

Thank you, there will be many more where this came from!

Looking forward to seeing them all! Why don’t you join our Slothicorn Discord? We are building ways to sustain artists! https://discord.gg/JEwADDq

Thanks, I'll check it out!

Hi and welcome to steemit. Really nice comic you are doing there. If you are interested in comics (and I get the distinct impression that you are) you should probably check out @kommienezuspadt. He runs a trialbycomics competition here on steemit. Competitions are a great way to connect with people and get some exposure.
Also try to check out phillfromgchq by @katharsisdrill.
Both of them are great entryways to exploring the comics community here on steemit

Sweet, I will definitely check them out - thanks for the tip. Excited to get more involved in the comics community here!

These are incredible!

Thanks so much, I'm glad you like them!

@zoeserbin simply amazing !
I am already in love with Adeline barker.
I appreciate you efforts in developing the whole character, its so beautiful. The whole process and the final output. I am sure its going to be a great success.
Cheers buddy. keep going.

PS : why do her hands widen or become hefty as they go down ?
:O

Hey this is super interesting
Will be following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58981.94
ETH 3097.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38