OC Digital Painting Tips and TickssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comic7 years ago

Hello fellow steemians,
I've finally finished my 90 days of traveling in Japan and Korean and I'm finally back home in America.
Today I'm going to go over the creation and a 'little' bit of my character design process for my comic's main character Irinde. I really enjoy character designing and I feel it's often an element in art that's overlooked. Here is a deeper look into some of the design elements I choose.
IrindeConcept.jpg

Appearance & Designs
Wavy hair Is a good option if you want a soft and gentle looking character. Which really helps define her personality. She's a caretaker, good natured and non-threatening.
Her height is 7 heads tall makes her appear average. When you get to characters that are 8+ heads tall you start to get heroic looking figures. Now, I'm no fan of completely designing a comic entire sinny characters. But it just so happens my story does take place in an ancient world with a food shortage. Add on top she lives in a large family and is poor...so ultra thin is her body type. Her outfit is based on the people who lived in the mediterranean in the ancient days. Outfit ideas were designed from ancient humans in this case the Greeks.

IrindeWIP.jpg

My Process
Here is a little bit about my workflow.
Step 1 I Started this image as a simple nude study.
Step 2 Inking.
Step 3 Color Flats.
Step 4 Values and Cast Shadows
Step 5 Atmospheric lights, highlights and textures.

This entire digital image took a good 80 hours from start to finish but I spent a lot of my time testing things out. Like drawing different dress designs on her until I found one I liked. Thanks for stopping by friends!

Sort:  

Love this art... upvoted... .. I am into photography and art u can check on my postn....Thx.... followed u now.

Thank you very much davidad and will do!

Great @ladygray! ^^ I like it, especially the outfit ;)

and welcome home... I bet you had a great time in Japan and Korea.. ^^

I love the corset body armor :)

wow, 80 hours! Very impressive work @ladygray looks great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60