Ode to Red Shirts

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago

Space, the final frontier.
Engines at the ready.
The captain surges
forward in his seat,
clutching the leather armrests.

The dreaded red suit is donned.

Kiss your wife and life goodbye.

The crew steps onto a planet unknown
The episode draws to a close.
A life must be sacrificed; it’s for dramatic effect.

“The reds never live.”
(unless you’re Picard)
Or that’s what they say

Just a watchman and guard,
only a throw-away extra.
A sub-human with no worth.

phaser noise

Funny
I’m already dead

Authors Note: Two anniversaries in one! This is my first poem and @comedyopenmic. @Damianjayclay has infected the other TWB members and myself with the poetry poxe. This nerd has caught the infection. Especially since my friends and I have decided to finish all of Star Trek in a year. I'll be a red shirt by the end of it.

I was nominated by @alheath

I hereby nominate @neg
Evil laughs

Photo by whatculture.com

43f1f908d979b78c-600x400.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to #comedyopenmic.

Thanks for joining our contest :) you have a natural gift.

Thank you, I enjoyed writing this. Glad people seem to like it.

Haha. So true, the poor Red Shirts. Why red? According to Warhammer 40k Orks: Red onez go fasta. cackles with your evil laugh

Look at those worried faces on the redshirts :)

Fun poem @idenkcall!

Thanks negativer! I counted six dead men in that picture lol

dark comedy, one of my favs!

👍👍👍- to honor the reds - u know the classic way to cover up blood stains

I haven't watched much Star Trek, but this is good! Hope to see you in the next round.

I really enjoyed this poem, @idenkcall. It made me smile.

“The reds never live.”
(unless you’re Picard)

Too funny!

But the thing that really gives me the giggles is that weird bump on Kirk's shirt. What is going on there? Alien growth emerging from his stomach?

Remember that one Star Trek episode where the crewman got pregnant? insert eye emoji here

empahsis on man in this case.

Ha ha ha!!

I love how you took the nihilistic nature of the lives of red shirts and penned a delightfully dark-comic poem from it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61