Comedy Open Mic Week 22 - Public Service Announcement - A Heartless New SCAM!

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago


I apologise for the serious tone of this post.

However, there is a new scam occurring via Steemit, in the wake of the recent and ongoing Byteball Airdrop!

In case you have been trapped in a cave for the past week or so, this airdrop has been delivering Bytes (a quality cryptocurrency with real value) to Steemians, based on their reputation.

However, crafty scammers have taken advantage of the referral scheme and are making off with people's Bytes!

(I want to make it very clear that this is in no way the responsibility of the Byteball team or anyone associated with them.)

The scam goes like this:

As a Byteball referrer, you receive a message from someone that appears to be taking you up on your offer to fund their airdrop attestation charge.

You then send them 60,000 - YES! 60,000 Bytes from your own wallet!

And that's it!

They don't complete the process and make off with the Bytes.

In US $ terms, 60,000 Bytes is worth somewhere in the region of 0.01$!

Just think!

These callous individuals could be making off with 10, 15 or maybe even 20 cents of value by repeating this scam multiple times.

They must be rubbing their hands with glee!

Normal service will resume tomorrow!

Sam x
EFTNow

p.s. This does appear to be a real scam - both @bobaphet and I appear to have had this happen to us.

However, this is my entry to the @comedyopenmic in light of just how pathetic this scam is.

If you are still to take part in the excellent Byteball airdrop, the details are in here - https://steemit.com/steempress/@eftnow/itsrainingfreemoneyonthesteemblockchain-dd7oz4w1qq

You can also use those details to scam me!

I nominate @leonlifelive and @startreat for the next round of #comedyopenmic


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Steemit is a scam Sam. My vote still isn't even worth a cent. And it takes over $800 to buy your way to SP 500. Which only makes your vote worth a nickle. SMH
But I'm not letting that stop me LOL. Just keep stacking the pennies.

I agree, ecery time I add what I have earned, it seems to be worth a little less.

But, compared to ten years on FB for nothing, six months on steemit is a pure gold mine, ROFLOL! ♡♡♡

I think you should bust it open! The public need to know.

One swallow does not make a summer - though it can make your night.

LOL
And the numbers are even higher now then they were when I made that post. I'm now at 56.4 SP and it now says 59 SP is worth a penny. WTF!?

I've just snuck a peek in your wallet. If you power up, you'll be well over 100SP, which will probably make a difference.

I know but I'm not ready to do anything with my SBD just yet. When I get to 50 I want to host my own contest risking giving some away.
It just pisses me off seeing the value of Steem Power being worth less because the price is going up. I was all excited that my vote was going to be worth a penny and it still isn't SMH.
Here is my latest work of art ranting about this Sam...
https://steemit.com/steemit/@hippie-witha-gun/steem-power-going-up-wtf-my-vote-still-isn-t-even-worth-a-penny-01

and the rounds @hippie-witha-gun, keep stacking those rounds too :P
Peace.

Haha, it's a scam alright :)
After my vlog I had 7 people msg me with their wallet addresses. I sent each one 60,000 Bytes. Only 2 of them followed through.
I'm 5c out of pocket. Oh the woe of it all.
The world is coming to an end.
It's just not worth it anymore...
Glad you finally acted on my nomination to @comedyopenmic :P
Peace.

Are you okay? I'm glad you are friends, as you can help each other through this difficult time of great loss.

We're thinking of starting a support group.

I can donate a byte or two to that...

Valium helps.
A little.
Peace.

Its almost a haiku for the betrayed!

I think you should quit the crypto world. Suckers like you are getting eaten alive out there!

See my latest comment, re: downvoting curation trail :)
The Empire Strikes Back !!
Peace.

you are a savior of the masses... those scammers... taking the hard earned pennies of steemers.....the wrath of god will descend!

I can just imagine them now with their Lambos and private jets, laughing and sneering at us all!

The Lord will prevail!

I knew it. That's why I spent my bytes buying tickets for the lottery. I'm going to win big. 320 MB I bet.

Sounds like a no-fail plan to me!

Super important community post, Sam. Nabithecat and I have it on our list to do this together this evening.... THANKS for looking out for everyone and helping to keep us safe out here in the cryptosphere. x

I've already lost 0.03$ US to these heartless brutes. Where's the humanity? WHERE?

haha... you ARE funny, Sam! :)

We could start a curation trail, and go downvote everyone who commented with their wallet addresses, and didn't follow through :)
Peace.

You are right - we should drop everything and dedicate our lives to defeating this plague!

72SGYZDMP555NBPQASK4VL244JUNNWDA

Just take my BYTES!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76