Comedy Open Mic - Join The Fun!

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

There is a new competition in town and the name is #comedyopenmic , initiated by @idikuci. Here is the link to the post http://steem.link/HRmO8
All kinds of comedy contributions are welcome and for Week 1 the Total Prize Pool is 210SBD + 50Steem! I have the honor of being one of the judges in this competition and feel it will be awesome to have a comedy contest up and running. In order to promote this new weekly running competition I have made some artwork, and please give me your feedback of what you think ?

transsdsparent background.2117.jpg

Comedy is universal and it's a great way of breaking down barriers. In my opinion we all speak the same language when we use humor, so it's a great way to connect on Steemit, to have fun, and to get to know new people. I would say that this community is suitable for anyone on Steemit, I mean who says no to having a good laugh ?

IMG_3269.PNG

In the competition there are currently four judges:

@idikuci
@dj123
@dandesign86
@take5

Further more we have a lot of outstanding Steemians that will keep a lookout for goods posts and help with voting:

Upvoters

@punchline
Has generously offered to watch the contest and upvote worthy entries.

@steemwizards
Thinks he has what it takes to pick a winner. Make him pass around the upvotes!

@trafalgar
Will keep one eye on sweetssj and another on this contest. Grab his attention and he may just give you a nice upvote.
His comment is long

@nonameslefttouse
Will be on the look out for entries for ways to relieve Aku of his power. Help him by producing posts worthy of an upvote.

@carlgnash
Make carl laugh, and he'll give you one.

Alright, so if you want to have some fun, escape a bit from the crypto craze, come on over to #comedyopenmic !

See you there :)

Sort:  

hope it's going well so far

Thanks for the support Traf ! It might take a bit of time to get the ball rolling but slowly we'll gain momentum

It is going well. Have many entries coming in and I'm certainly laughing a lot.

I am still waiting on a maestro post... No pressure... Just saying

You did a fine job on that graphic. Looks great!

Thanks a lot I appreciate it :) I see you have helped and done a lot of commenting and upvoting for people participating in the competition- that's really awesome of you ! :) Hopefully the competition will be bigger and bigger, in the end comedy has huge potential for Steemit to grow bigger

Much of my success here on Steemit came from being funny or just acting like an idiot in general while I'm surrounded by so many geniuses. I know it's not easy to get a blog based on comedy off the ground here, but more and more I'm seeing it.

I realize comedy is a multi billion dollar industry. It's one of the biggest draws on television, movies, youtube...well, this list can get long. It's everywhere. People love it. Always have. I know it's important for this platform. I agree with you and certainly don't mind helping to get the ball rolling. I think a competition is the perfect way to start setting the bar so we can watch it keep going higher and higher.

Well we can't all be geniuses and Crypto nerds here, so it's awesome with people that mix it up. Not saying that you are not a genius, just saying that we can only have so much posting surrounding cryptocurrency.

I definitely agree that comedy is one of the biggest draws, it's also perfect for such a multicultural platform since comedy is universal.

A competition should be a step in the right direction and it sure will be interesting to see how it develops :)

We don't need to talk about cryptocurrency to be crypto nerds. To be honest, I'm the biggest crypto nerd I know. I'm one of the first entertainers in the world who got their start on a blockchain while getting paid in cryptocurrency. I'll yap and be excited about it in my personal Facebook page. Most people ignore it as soon as they hear the C word. If I share one of my blog posts, many people look. The crypto market is smaller than the entertainment market. That's all it is. It's only common sense to know embracing the entertainment market is beneficial to a platform like this. I'm glad I'm not the only one who sees this.

I'm also a bit of a crypto nerd actually, I guess we all are in a sense here on Steemit, I just mean that sometimes a lot of the material is focused only on crypto.

It's awesome that you found Steemit at such an early stage. Hos did you find out about it?

How did I find out?

I was being lazy one afternoon after work. Sitting around watching youtube videos. I stepped outside for a cigarette. When I got back in, a new video was playing. I had autoplay on. They were talking about Steemit. I had no idea who they were or how they got on my computer, but I was paying attention. "Get paid to write." I'd been writing for years. My entire life. I didn't hesitate to sign up. At first I was writing essays. Trying to fit in. Once I started just being myself and forgetting about trying to fit in, things took off. The rest is history.

I simply acted on something random that practically fell on my lap, without hesitation. Nothing to lose. Everything in that wallet, I earned here, doing my thing.

That's pretty awesome ! Sometimes it's hard not to believe in faith. In your situation I think 98 percent of people would not have signed up, not when coming across the material in such a random way and at such an early stage, but you went for it ! No guts no glory! I learned that phrase from Gold Rush Alaska hehe.

I definitely agree about being yourself. If you aren't really that interested in what you are writing your reader probably won't be either. Passion always shine through

I really like the design. Nice work Dandy.

Btw, where is your entry? It's ok since you've been busy with the logo, but I'd like to see an entry from you and redlips and can't forget bluey or dami

It's been on the back burner, I'm gonna post something today !

Awesome :)

Sounds like fun!

It is a lot of fun and you should definitely join ! Maybe make a video with that alcoholic bird you got - that is sure to crack up a lot of people !

Absolutely. We also welcome funny photos btw...

That's another cool example how Steem is feeding some great initiative in the show biz!
Great work with the Comedy Openmic image

Thanks a lot buddy ! It's cool that there is a lot of new developments all the time :) you should also join the competition it's a lot of fun ! And you have good humor my friend

Hey, one thing I noticed is that (excuse the technical feedback) the microphone doesn't seem to have a shadow like the text in background, so maybe add that?
Also, I guess a space between 'comedy' and 'open' would make it easier to be read.
Otherwise, it's a nice design!

Feedback is what I want to thanks for being honest. I think this is great feedback and I will try to fix both of these things

Glad I could help, looking forward to the edited version!

Looks awesome man!! what program did you use to make that?

Thanks a lot for saying that ! I used 3d rendering for the letters and then I used
Photoshop for the rest .

Awesome! Im taking a 3ds Max course at college rn and ill be taking photoshop next semester. thats so cool what you can do with that stuff!

I don't use 3D max but I know it's awesome. It's a very powerful software and probably one of the best 3D softwares . Stick with it and remember it's not as hard as some people make it out to be . Does it require some hard work to get good ? Of course . Buts it's well worth it ! I'm sure you will love it

Yeah its a really awesome program. Really enjoying it right now! hopefully ill be able to get good enough to do stuff like this!

Wow keren openmic

The logo is outstanding. It's a job well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42