Comedy Open Mic #5: Acolucky's Advice to Artists.

in #comedyopenmic6 years ago (edited)

20180314_185423.jpg
13" by 13" Oil on Ceramic Tile.

“When viewing another artist’s work, count to ten before moving on to the next piece. It gives the illusion that you care about what you are looking at.”

I heard that advice when I was young. It was a cruel thing to tell a child. However, most Kindergarten teachers aren’t trained in the arts, and many times our greatest burdens are dropped on us early in life.

Last week, as I counted to ten, lost in cold thought at a windowsill overlooking the back yard, there fell a piercing sunset across the snowy field. I seized the nearest tile, ripped it clean off the kitchen wall, and hashed out this painting.

I don’t mean to complain. When inspiration grabs you, you go. But I had a blind spot in the middle of my vision for three days following that sunset. I woke in cold sweats with sweltering migraine headaches. It is a reminder that, as artists, we should not stare for too long at a setting sun.

Like I said, I won’t complain. It is the first painting in more than a month. I had tried sleep deprivation and frustration at work, but those were not inspiring much art. I tried all the popular vices, also. No good.

I have come to this singular conclusion: no matter how much you run from it, an artist should get outside now and then. Also, a ten count is a long time to look at piece of art if you are not interested in that piece of art. The average viewing time of any individual piece, in any one gallery, at any given moment, is on the low side of three seconds.

An eight count is more than enough.

Thank you.

I nominate @improv and @godflesh to enter an original piece of humor for #comedyopenmic.

Sort:  

Considering I just watched you painting for atleast 20 seconds, it must mean I really like it, especially since Baywatch reruns are on the tv in the background.

I really like how you combined your art in this comedy piece - you are an artist both in painting and in the comedy realm - that's impressive !

Thanks for the kind words. I make up for it with a lack of money.

i like that "H" best.....yeah, gave that a good 7 seconds, which i think is plenty for just a letter

👍👍- bwahahah now i know the secret to mess with artist in galleries

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Ha ha, that sounds like a powerful possession by the spirit of the muse! It a-mused me anyway... groan ;-)

That was excellent @acolucky. The 10 second rule is quite interesting, I kind of like it, especially if the artists are around, I'd hate to offend them.. But to be fair I'd routinely spend close to 10 seconds looking at different pieces anyway. Often times a cursory look is not enough..

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Excellent, thanks for your participation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71023.23
ETH 3852.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49