My Name is Jeff, but you can call me Chuck! - The INSIDE JOKE at my housesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comedy7 years ago (edited)


The inside joke around my house is: "Hi, my name, Chuck".

Whenever we get a spelling detail wrong, or misunderstand each other, somebody sez to me 

"Ok Chuck".


It comes up all the time:

- spelling someone's name, or a product model

- name for waiting list please?

- order sandwich - need a name

- passport office - ran out of number tickets, taking names


It's really not funny when you tell someone about it, but once they see happen, it's hilarious!

"Your name please?"

"Jeff"

"Chuck?"

"No, Jeff"

"Chuck??"

Sometimes I just want to leave... instead of working it out.

In CA where I live, people want to hear "Chuck" for whatever reason - it's on them... I don't mis-pronounce my name!


I asked my date: 'Do you think when I say "Jeff"...  - it sounds like "Chuck" to you?'

She said "no".

It's not even a funny conversation. Just a sincere question, is it them, OR is it me?


It's not funny, until she heard someone do it at the taco bar:

"Table is ready for Chuck" - they announced on the PA system.


She couldn't stop laughing.... ;-)

Now it's our "inside joke".

She tells our friends:

"When I'm not happy with him, I call him Chuck!"

"Or I just say, '10-4, Chuck'."


There is no similarity to the two different names, for me.

Chuck is a nickname. Nickname for Charles.

Jeff is 50 times more popular of a name, than Chuck.


So, if someone says, 'My name is "Erin"'. 

"Karen?"         (I have a sister named Karen, so I assumed she said Karen)

They sound different! Very different, to my ears...

But I wanted to hear Karen, it reminds me of my sister!


----------------- It happened again just last night -------------

'OMG, he's right!'  

- she's cracking up, laughing, people are looking, what's so funny?

- Huge disbelief! 

"How do you get Chuck, from Jeff?"


People hear, what they want to hear... that's how.




Sort:  

Do you sound like this? @surfyogi. Lol

charles carmichael is better

I've never seen the Chuck TV show, but it looks good from clips on YT.
Goes on my watch list, thanks.

Amazing @surfyogi. Thankyou for sharing. It was a fun trip. Would you like to visit my post and vote?? I have followed you And I follow your post.

WOW..!!! Great post man... !!!!
Thanks for sharing it...!!!
upvoted and followed...!!!!

Sometimes this mishearing happens because of constant firing of neurons in a person's brain about a particular name or the name which resembles the name they just hear. So, simply speaking they must have heard or have a strong connection with name they mis-spelled instead of yours. Although it's very weird thing to happen to anybody, more like frustrating but at the same time it's funny.
Well, sir you always shares your life experiences in here which is actually commendable, not everyone can share their life experiences with this much free-ness :)

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :]

And even more often they hear that you don't want they hear) Thanks for your post dear @surfyogi!

Very funny lol my being mi and it is dangerous but calling by chuck name is okay, chuck serial instead of horror movie whose doll can talk @surfyogi ..

Too funny but true! When I say table for 'Hoy' they say table for 'White' at a restaurant. Has happened numerous times. I have the shortest surname but nobody can spell it first time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51