You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wanda Sykes - Not Normal (Netflix comedy special): Decent, but a lot of pandering present

in #comedy5 years ago

Yet another solid review - @gooddream

It's been a while since i've watched a standup - I think last full one i watched was one of Gabriel Iglesias' standup on netflix that i found absolutely hilarious. I've been meaning to watch the stuff in your "Excellent" tier as well as Kevin Hart's.

I'm curious to hear your thoughts about the Zach Galifinakis one. Personally i've found him to be very funny in his films and skits that he's done in the past. (Of course Skits\Movies are much different from Standup). I actually didn't know he had done this stand up so i'll probably be checking that out eventually.

As far as this stand up is concerned, I would have guessed it had potential, but i had guessed it would feature some lazy material at the president. I don't mind comedy involving politics, but when it's not good or extremely overdone (as it has been with the trump presidency) , I find it more annoying than remotely funny, mainly because here in the states, i have seen that far too often.

Also I must say, i'm amazed to see anyone actually watched the Amy Schumer standups. From what clips i've seen and reports from other people it sounds like it's amazing that anyone finds her funny. Which is strange, i've really never seen a comic that has been found by so many to be unfunny and yet still be very promoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45