You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Comedy - Robin Williams

in #comedy5 years ago

Now this is getting interesting :)
Up to the year 2000 I had watched most Robbin Williams movies before I knew he was a standup comedian. I was hooked by his crazy style, his verbosity and his outrageous impersonations.
I have not seen, with the possible exception of George Carlin someone so witty, fast and scandalous.
In his movies, though, Williams had the versatility of a true actor. He could be silly, emotional, and evil.
I loved his performance in Dead Poets Society, Good Will Hunting, and Moscow in the Hudson, which incidentally has Venezuelan Actress, Maria Conchita Alonso co-starring.
Awakening, Mrs Doubtfire, and Patch Adams are also among my favorites. In all those movies he let some of his internal demons come out. I mournd his death as a artistic tragedy, and also as a human tragedy. It made me remember the salsa song's line "pobre payaso, rie por no llorar" (poor clown, who laughs to avoid crying).
He will be forever remembered and loved

Sort:  

Yes,I agree, there's a remarkable contrast between his stand-up, which is brilliant, but funny and his movie performances, which are also brilliant, but can be so emotional, so deep. He really was a talented actor and many of these are among my favorites as well :D

Ah Carlin...yes, another man we'll be talking about in this series quite soon <3 One of my favorites.
Thank you for the comment! :)

Thank you for the great content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33