Tom Segura - Disgraceful (netflix stand-up): It's decent but not great

in #comedy5 years ago

There are a ton of stand-up specials on Netflix. I think that Tom Segura has a contract with the company because they produce a 1-hour special from him every two years. I randomly encountered this special and had not heard of Tom before this.

816ARghQEIL._SY355_.jpg
source

Like many other comedians, Tom focuses on jokes that encompass things he actually encountered in his life. Most of his stories involve rather long lead-ins about stories from his own life and in my mind actually that is one of the weaknesses of this delivery. Sometimes it was taking many minutes to get to the punchline of a single joke and this is too long.


source

He makes jokes about his own appearance and also talks about how PC cultures has ruined a lot of what used to be harmless fun. In one particular bit he talks about how (and this was true in my youth) people would refer to certain things as being "retarded" but you can't say that anymore. In a wonderful ironic twist a group of PC police out there started a petition to have his comedy banned because he used the word "retarded" and this is "hate speech." Sheesh...

He steers clear of politics for the most part and this always appeals to me. However, since the special was taking place in an ultra liberal city he did make a few jabs at conservatives, which is suppose is to be expected but he didn't dwell on it for too long and that is a good thing because I hate lazy comedy. Overall, I would rate this special as being better than average, but still not top-tier. Therefore Disgraceful recieves the rating of...

"Decent"


If you are interested here is a list of the specials I have watched that are currently available on Netflix (for my region anyway.)

Stuff I rate as "excellent"


Ricky Gervais- Humanity
Adam Sandler: 100% Fresh
Joe Rogan: Strange Times
Dave Chappelle: Equanimity, The Age of Spin, and Deep in the Heart of Texas

The "Really Good" stuff I have seen includes


Nate Bargatze: The Tennessee Kid
Kevin Hart: Irresponsible

The "decent" stuff I have seen includes


Zach Galifianakis live at the purple onion
Ellen Degeneres: Relatable
Ken Jeong: You Complete me, Ho
Tom Segura: Disgraceful

And the really not so good to awful stand up is


Amy Schumer: Growing
Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (quite possibly the most unfunny thing I have ever seen)
Donald Glover: Weirdo
Hannibal Buress: Comedy Camisado

Sort:  

I was just going to say I feel like there have been a ton of stand up specials lately. I actually have been seeing a lot of advertising from Netflix lately on my Facebook and other outlets. They are making a really big push for this comedy thing and are trying to highlight all of their specials. It's definitely something they have made a huge commitment to (for better or worse).

Love the fact that he stays clear of political satire I don't know if he makes 18+ jokes too but the thing is he's obviously centering the joke around himself in other to establish a form of originality really as well, the truth is that he's obviously not that catchy, but well he's just decent

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 90000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 95000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I found out that in these days, a comedian died in the middle of the show. I would like to talk about that. Actually, I have not seen the news just because of the networks but I have not deepened my regards.

Slightly better than Amy Schumer.
Well done Tom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58054.32
ETH 2357.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42