Ken Jeong - You Complete me, Ho (netflix stand-up special)

in #comedy5 years ago

I knew that Ken Jeong was funny from his times in the Hangover movies and I think I speak for a lot of people when I say that he was one of the best characters in that trilogy. I didnot know his history or the fact that he did stand up.


source

I watch anything that Netflix recommends to me on the "home" page, this is just something that I decided to do about a month ago. So far they have actually recommended some good stuff. I know that this is based on my own choices of what to watch but whatever, I like stand-up comedy and this one did not disappoint, but i think a lot of that is based on my own history.


source

Someone with his star-power certainly could have booked a far larger place for his comedy special but I found it quite endearing that he chose The Icehouse club because of his past there. He performed there before he was a big name and also it was the first comedy club that he took his wife to. awwwww

The reason why I might think it is funnier than many other people is because much of his jokes are centered around poking fun at various Asian cultures such as his own (Korean) and his wife's (Vietnamese) and I have spent time in both of those countries. For people who have not been to either or are unfamiliar with the cultures, it might not be as funny.

For the most part, i think that Ken sounds like he is probably a pretty nice person in real life and is just remarkably talented. For one thing, i had no idea that before picking up acting and comedy as a career he actually was real-life doctor. This is what got him his first gig on "Knocked Up" which propelled him to other places in life. He stays away from politics for the most part (which normally annoys me about comedians who abuse their stage to make some sort of ill-contrived political message.)

While it certainly isn't the funniest thing i have seen in stand-up lately (Adam Sandler, Dave Chapelle, and Joe Rogan currently have that crown) it is worth watching. It is only 40 minutes of your life after all. I say go for it.

Sort:  

Omg I didnt know he did stand up! I will definitely be watching this after I read a few more post!

Just finished it hehe, it was funny how there were 3 ho's in the room lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Surely 40 minutes is not much to try it out

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55948.41
ETH 2523.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31