Amy Schumer: The Leather Special (Netflix stand-up) - It's as bad as you've heard

in #comedy6 years ago

Where to even start with this? I had heard this special getting ripped apart by critics pretty much across the board and I wasn't going to see it anyway because I find Amy to be one of the most unfunny people of our time but I promised I would watch it from start-to-finish.

91dJxbwesKL._SL1500_.jpg
source

Everyone is familiar with the expression "I want that hour of my life back" and I can say not only that but I can think of very little else that I would rather not do than have to watch this again. You remember how I said I hated Leo's Romeo+Juliet movie? I would much rather watch that movie followed by one of the training videos the DMV produced than have to sit through this again.

MV5BOGJjYjA4YzUtZjFlMC00OTA4LTlhNWMtYzBmZjEyNzM4NWFhXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTEzNzczMA@@._V1_.jpg
source

Her attempts at humor have transitioned from whatever it was before to be a bit self-deprecating and intentionally grotesque. I think she is trying to be edgy by being very graphic like Andrew Dice Clay used to do. However, it does not work out for her because it just comes across as gross and disturbing. I am not just saying this because she is fat and refers to her private parts constantly. If I supermodel was saying the same thing I would be like 'hey, tone it down a bit."

My favorite quote in the youtube comments goes like this

"When amy Schumer was a child she said she wanted to be a comedian everybody laughed. She is now a comedian; no one is laughing now"

This is without question, the least funny thing I have seen in a very long time and have have been at comedy shows in Chicago where the comedian got no laughs and was booed off the stage. I don't think i even got anywhere close to approach smiling at any point during this 1 hour special. She later had the audacity to complain that she was paid less than Dave Chapelle citing "income inequality." No Amy, it is because Dave is funny and you are not.

-10 / 10


Skip at all costs

Sort:  

I've read your review, it made me sad.
But the truth must told.
And then I laughed because of the -10/10 🤣!

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

'Nobody laughed'...so sad :(

Props to you for going through with this. How in the hell did she ever get famous?

There's a video on Youtube that compiles jokes she's stolen from other comedians and its pretty upsetting - it was about 20 minutes of the original joke by the comic who first wrote the joke, follwed by clips of her blatantly her ripping it off. Stealing jokes killed Carlos Mencias career, yet shes still getting movies and comedy specials.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85