Monday Mourning Stand Up Comedy by Elissa Hawke

in #comedy8 years ago (edited)

I miss doing stand up comedy.

I worked professionally for 14 years in Australia. I had some success but mostly what I had was fun.
And pain.
It used to scare me so much in the days or weeks leading up to the gig.
As soon as I stepped on stage I was happy.
I have not officially retired. I have a lot more to say now than ever and I cant wait to get on a stage again. I hope to do comedy until I die, refining my work and thoughts for half a century like Carlin.
I guess I can start a night here in Mexico, but my spanish isnt fluent enough yet, and i just feel rude doing it in only english, so for now im just hibernating with ideas.
The best thing is truth never dates. And sometimes, we people can see through our brainwashing better when our body involuntarily spasms into laughter.
Here I touch on
-Massage therapy -Being a comedian -Global warming enthusiasts -Al Gore VS The Secret -Death- Australian "terrorist" David Hicks - War - The Army - Voting - Anarchy - Nukes - Michael Jackson Gary Glitter and Prince - Schitzophrenia - Marijuana - God - Smoking - Suffering -Getting Older - Making Love versus Fucking
I like shocking them and watching the crowd spasm
Thanks for watching, the sound quality improves after the first joke and the vision will forever be shit but I am glad to have it.

I hope the link works its like trying to deal with a microfische myspace
https://myspace.com/elissahawke/video/elissa-hawke-the-craichouse-wollongong/15855437

Sort:  

awesome

Some of the funniest shit I've ever heard were the jokes you told me at Anarchapulco. We need to do a comedy show someday.

it was the tacos. and Id be relighted! xx love to you blissbombs

Lmao this is brilliant I think the one at the gong was my favourite, some of your lines are just pure gold.

I really think you should keep going with it you could post it on here 😄

love hearing your aussie slang xx thanks for the encouragement... the energy still gets out somehow or other its lovely

haha yeah it's so odd I'm just not used to chatting with people from other countries and I forget that some things I say just make no sense to them.

I've decided I should do a post on common Aussie slang so people can use it as a decoder of sorts lol.

The other day chatting and I said "I shat a brick" and all the response I got was "ouch" you could just sense the confusion :D

I don't know what you've done in the 11 months since this post, but if you want to do some more comedy on Steemit, I just started a contest: If you'd like to submit a video of your comedy to my contest, you could win money! https://steemit.com/contest/@improv/official-open-mic-call-for-entries-1-50-sbd-in-prizes-this-is-the-official-post-for-the-contest-i-ve-been-talking-about-all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74