You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coupling - British TV Series - Intelligent, Irreverent and Hilarious

in #comedy6 years ago

Yeah, I probably should have said "Friends" meets "Monty Python" meets Eddie Izzard, which might actually be closer, but I figured that most Americans wouldn't know Eddie Izzard, so there you go. I can pretty much guarantee that you'll love "Coupling."

And if you haven't seen "Eddie Izzard, Live at Wembley," do yourself a favor and grab that too. You can thank me later. ;-)

All of his specials are well worth seeing, but that is my special favorite, and his bit on Greek mythology just about did me in. And, like Monty Python, the more history you know the funnier he is, and since my sister and I were both really into Greek mythology as kids, it was doubly funny to me. Both Marek and I kept having to go back, because we were frequently laughing too hard to hear the next jokes.

My former spouse, as smart as he was, never "got" British humor, which had a lot to do with the fact that he couldn't understand English accents. At all. Which completely mystified me, because . . . drum roll please . . . they're speaking English. But he literally had no idea what they were saying.

So when my stepdaughter "discovered" Monty Python, we had some serious bonding time, and sat one evening rolling on the floor in hysterics over "Monty Python and the Holy Grail," while her dad sat perplexed on the couch, every so often offering a plaintive, "What's so funny?"

For her part, April couldn't believe that I saw the film in the theatre the year she was born, just as she was blown away the day she "introduced" me to Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody," only to have me sing it along with her word for word, as I had known the song for nearly as long. ;-)

And a year or so ago, I had my own Monty Python moment on our farm, when I was on my way to bring in my goats for the evening, and suddenly realized I was hearing them up ahead of me, rather than down and to the left, where they should have been.

I was getting concerned, until I realized that the sound was coming from above my head, and that it was one of our local mockingbirds giving me his flawless goat bleating from one of the trees at the edge of the woods. Can you say flying sheep? ;-)

They had me going one day by the main house as well, when we had had a guinea pig escape, and I had managed to recapture and secure all but one male, who kept eluding me. I started hearing a guinea pig by the Bradford pear tree, in front of our house, which is a good fifteen or twenty yards from their enclosure . . . not good, with Lolo and both cats outside.

Then, as with the goats, I realized the sound was coming from up. And guinea pigs do not climb. Ever.

And, to this day, we have a couple of our mockingbirds that, every so often, give us their best guinea pig calls. Hilarious. ;-)

Sort:  

Ohhhhh the mockingbirds - last week our daughter presented the Starling for her college ornithology finals, and we were listening to their incredible imitations of chainsaws, camera shutters, and any sound they hear. Yours imitating the goats and the guinea pig, and for years to come having them in their repertoire, is sheer genius. And comedy! Birds should take over the cat monopoly on the internet!
And I totally love the Bohemian Rhapsody story. Never underestimate a mother!

Our local mockingbirds also speak fluent chainsaw, weedeater and tractor, and one has even started imitating the hammering sounds of our local woodpeckers.

We have a few different species, including pileated woodpeckers and flickers, so I always check to see who it is, and was dumbfounded one day to realize that the sound was coming from the mockingbird.

Definitely not what I was expecting.

We had a neighbor in Florida, who was having starter problems with his car, and one of our mockingbirds there started perfectly imitating his car refusing to start, which was pretty hilarious.

What amazed me the most about mockingbirds, however, is that we were a short block away from Lake Seminole, so we had a lot of ospreys and bald eagles in the immediate neighborhood, and the mockingbirds would regularly chase the MUCH bigger raptors out of their nesting areas.

Bald eagles and ospreys both have wingspans approaching six feet - mockingbirds, when protecting their young, are absolutely fearless.

They even chased away red-tailed hawks, which sometimes prey on song birds, including mockingbirds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43