Stolen Beach Art

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

Everyone was going on about their own business as if nothing bad was happening.

I saw this art on the beach in Bali a couple of months ago.

The sad part was, by the time I saw it, they were already tearing it down.

I sadly watched as tons of beautiful artwork got destroyed.

No one else even bothered to look twice.

To me, some of the pieces were beautiful. I loved the feather. I loved the bright colors.

If no one else was going to appreciate the artwork, I was going to be the one to do it, dang it!

And that’s how ten minutes later I ended up on a busy road on a motorcycle carrying a huge, splintery piece of beach art with rusty nails sticking out of the back of it.

I was lifting the board up, down, to the right, to the left like a maniac to avoid hitting pedestrians with a rusty nail as my accomplice was driving us down the road on the getaway moto.

If you’re ever looking for a new arm workout, and don’t want to pay for a gym membership- look no further! The rusty beach wood workout will get your arms muscled up in no time!

This was the piece I ended up taking home with me. Mainly because it was the only piece that broke off in a carry-able size. The feather portion was way too huge me to try to tackle.

It must’ve been meant to be, because the whole face was still in tact!

Yeah, I justify my thievery with cliches like “it’s meant to be.”

When I brought it back to where I was staying, Nari and her daughter laughed at me, but they supported my cause.

They even saved the beach art for me, and it's in Bali waiting for me to come back and maybe finally do something about the rusty nail situation.

P.S. I want you all to know some random dude who I am sure had authority of some kind said it was okay for me to take the beach art. I'm not a thief.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

oh my that is a beautiful piece you got there as a keep sake! it is sad to hear that it was taken down.

Street art is underestimated. It is an art form forever beyond the reaches of elite schools and even eliter class of critics. To tear it down holds a certain level of sinister intentions.

You are definitely not a thief. You saved the artwork. If only that art can talk, it would've been hugging and kissing you right now. Haha!

Damn I always felt graffiti is one of the rawest form of expression.

A beautiful photo. Greetings! 😊

Hello, everyone! I've created a new Steemit t-shirt and I hope that you will love it as I was working on it for a whole day! You can get it here:
https://teespring.com/steem-to-the-moon
front (7).jpg

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-14T15:59:24
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 317.81/400.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 72
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.80 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That is an awesome story. I might have rented a truck for a second trip.

It is very beautiful. I'm glad you manage to grab one back, sure a wasted if being destroy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45