CAPTURING CANADA

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

CAPTURING CANADA: Trip Epiclogue

2017 was was big year for me. Starting in September I drove across Canada, first to the West coast and then to the East with my camera and explored parts of all ten Provinces and two* of the three northern Territories. It was Canada's 150th birthday, the anniversary of our Confederation, and I wanted to do something big to celebrate.

I visited twenty of our National Parks and many unique locations in between. It was a rewarding and successful few months.

I returned back home in Ottawa for New Year's Eve, 101 days, 35,000 kilometers and about the same number of photos later.

This was a photography-focused trip. My goal was to take awesome pictures all across the country, especially in the National Parks. This meant late nights, early mornings, sleeping at odd hours, often driving for whole days and stopping only to eat and fuel up so that I could reach the next destination in time to photograph the sunrise. While I had to forego many of the traditional aspects of a cross-country road trip (exploring cities, visiting museums and other tourist locations), I accomplished the primary goal; I feel good about my photography on this trip, and I cannot wait to start sharing photos from this vast and beautiful country that I call home.

2017 was the year of taking pictures, 2018 will be a year of sharing them. My adventure is over and I've had a moment to catch my breath. Now it's time to begin the journey anew and relive the story with you!

Trent River Falls
Trent River Falls, near Courtenay, Vancouver Island, B.C.

Sort:  

That maple leaf on the rock is nice. Where was the shot taken? It sounds like an epic trip.

Ah...I knew I forgot something. This is Trent River Falls, outside Courtenay on Vancouver Island. Thanks!

Beautiful. I took a similar river shot of giant leaf maples in Oregon. But without the waterfall; so this trumps it.

I love shooting waterfalls when the leaves are falling! Oregon is awesome for that too.

Your photos are amazing. What camera do you have, if I may ask? (I know most of it is the photographer :) just curious)

Thank you!

Hehe, yes, of course you may ask, for though my camera gets no credit for the composition, lighting and location, it is responsible for the dynamic range, color depth and resolution of the final result, which play heavily into the impact of the photo on screen and in print, and so deserves lots of credit. Right now I have the Nikon D850, but for a couple of years and until halfway through the trip I was using the D750. Both are awesome. The D850 is significantly pricier, and I haven't made up my own mind whether it's worth the extra cost, but I would recommend the D750 to everyone.

Cool, thanks! I knew it had to be a professional camera, which seems to pair well with your talent.:)
I am at the Canon 70D stage (first DSLR was a used Nikon D5000). Hope to upgrade at some point; meanwhile I can always focus on improving my photography. Following for inspiration, very beautiful photography.

Absolutely, and there are always ways to make the best of any camera, it just may take more work. :)

your work is truly amazing, going to have to follow and resteem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88