Do we see colors the same?

in #colors7 years ago

#1 Do we see colors the same  .png

Do we see colors the same?


I think we can all agree that the big apple in the middle of the picture is red. Right? . . . Well yes, obviously. But is the color I see as red, the same as how you see red?

Of course we all know that not everybody sees color in exactly the same way. Those who are color blind for example. People with red-green color blindness will describe the experience that there is this color who people sometimes call red, sometimes brown and other times orange. This is because those with red-green color blindness are missing one of the three color photoreceptors. This is not hard to find out since they would ask you; Why are you telling me an orange is orange and an apple is red? Are they not the same color?

How is it possible we don't see colors the same?

Well, researchers point out that colors are differentiated by how our brains react differently to different wavelengths of light. They believe our brains don't automatically associate, for example, short wavelengths with blue. Imagine this as if the color wheel inside your brain is shifted.

#1 What if your brain shifts the color wheel .png

Is there a way to find out?

You can't describe how a color looks. Also if you were to express that the color blue is associated with cold or the emotion sad, it would not make sence since the person who may or may not see the same colors as you do ,will ,whatever color they see, also associate with cold and the emotion sad. All this means that our visual world could be extremely different from one another. Image what the world would look like if everything was another color. What this could also mean is that we all have the same favorite color. Which is very unlikely, but still blows my mind.


🤔 so, what do you think 🤔

#1 Poll Picture.png

👆🏼 upvote this post 👆🏼


👉🏼 follow @tiemenmoesker 👈🏼


😄 thanks 😄


Hey, thanks for reading my first post! I hope you liked it. I am new here on Steemit, and I am going to post more of topics like this. I'd like to hear about your opinions and discuss with you guys in the reply section.


Excuse me if my spelling and/or grammar is not always correct. English is not my native language.
Sort:  

I voted for Yes we do. But I think I would have picked the 'i'm not sure' category if there was one

That's a good point! I am going to add that option to the poll. Thanks :)

Congratulations @tiemenmoesker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68