Background Art

in #colors7 years ago

I am terrible at mixing colors. To create some kind of harmony in my work I usually choose a limited palette, from which I pick all the colors from.
This time, to mask my incompetence as an artistic choice, I resolved to do all the backgrounds with just 8 colors (+ black and white) Here are some of the backgrounds:

bg4.png

bg1.png

bg2_2.png

bg3.png

I started by drwaing everything by hand, but I quicly realized that it would be too time consuming (and painful with my crappy mouse) to do so.
Instead I found some public domain photographs for myself and heavily edited and pixellated them.
Here is the color pallette I use for the backgrounds (mostly):

varit.png

All of the characters will be hand drawn by me. They are the center of this product so they deserve more effort put into them.

In my next post I will be talking about the problems I have regarding this game's development.

Total Lines: 1502
Ready Lines: 119
Progress: 7.9%

Sort:  

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! i will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt!

I'll be honest and say I don't like most of the pictures, but the second picture is really nice!

(I'm not an artist and I can't draw anything :) )

Dont worry :) everyone has a right of opinion :) to be honest I'm not that proud of them either, however there's a limited number of hours in my life and I work/study fulltime so I need to prioritize if I ever want to see this game ready.

Hello Hanuli;
I was hoping that you would post more. Don't be discouraged. Art does not need to be liked - but one can appreciate something without liking it. I used to paint things in black only on white. Instead of drawing what was there, I would draw what wasn't there. Imagine drawing a face but not the features but the shadows and the lines.

Of course now it is so much easier just by using Microsoft Paint to achieve the same effect. Looking at this image a person might not be able to identify it. Once you see the original:
Taken from Flaunt
you might not like my image (the original is far better) but one can appreciate it...

Hello! Thanks for your wonderful comment :) Believe me I'm not posting frequently, because I'm discouraged, but because I'm busy at work. However my summer job is ending this week so look forward for more posts from me :)

Congratulations @hanuli! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51