Color Challenge: Sunday Purple: American Pokeweed

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Color Challenge initiated by @kalemandra. Sunday Purple: American Pokeweed

I found Pokeweed at two different places; in my next door neighbor's yard and in a field. The first set of photos are from my neighbor's yard.

My neighbor planted this pokeweed to attract song birds.

It has many branches and can grow approximately 4-6 feet high.

You can see pokeweed blooming from summer to autumn with these clusters of greenish-white flowers.

According to softschools.com, pokeweed has the "nick-name "inkberry" because the juice from the berries was used as ink and dye in the past."

Beware, do not eat these berries because they are "poisonous for humans and livestock."

The last two photos are of the pokeweed that I found in a field. You can see how large they can grow.

THANKS FOR LOOKING!

Information Source: softschools.com

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

Thanks for all the pics! That's my best way of learning about local plants. Those drawings in books just don't do it for me.

My pleasure! It is nice to know that you can learn something from my post. Thanks for stopping by! : )

Amazing how bird tummies must work, the things
they can eat that are poisonous to other larger critters.
Beautiful photos @whatisnew! I've never seen a Poke
Bush b4 🌿

I know, I was thinking the same thing.
Thanks for the compliment @shasta! Glad you like the photos. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61438.76
ETH 2384.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58