Color Challenge Red: Milkweed (and monarchs)

If you'd like your garden to be visited by handsome monarch butterflies then planting milkweed is the way to go!

Monarch butterflies are rapidly decreasing in North America because of the scarcity of the milkweed plants.

Red flowers with butterflies-5.jpg

There are many different varieties of milkweed that grow all over the country and planting them in your garden helps preserve a species that has been in decline for two decades. The monarch species of butterfly (often referred to as "wanderer") have actually plummeted by 90%.

Red flowers with butterflies-1.jpg

I'm not sure about you but these butterflies bring me so much joy!

I’d love your help keeping them around…We love chasing them through different gardens and trying to capture them still enough for a beautiful photograph!

Red flowers with butterflies-10.jpg

Where have you found the most beautiful butterflies?
Please comment below. This Sassy Gal Adventurer is always looking for recommendations.

To see more of my posts and adventures please follow ME!

Photos captured with a Canon EOS T3 Rebel using a 28-135mm lens.
(no editing)

All rights reserved. ©2018.

Sort:  

We LOVE your photography!

Here's a manual upvote from @rePhoto - Follow and support us!
logo
@rePhoto is dedicated to sharing and upvoting undervalued photography content across the steemit community. Check out the awesome photography we already resteemed!

Curious? Read more about us

Good photos. The butterflies are good in the UK in the summer, I'll be uploading some here.

Looking forward to seeing your post!

such beautiful shots, butterflies tend to tease me, I once spend almost an hour slowly creeping along trying to get shots of some

Same here. Sometimes it really takes awhile. I'm not the quietest, most graceful person to try sneaking up on them or any animals for that matter. I tend to scare them off. @Liberty-minded is much better with the "wildlife" shots. I get after them too quickly...so I get super excited when I capture something on camera!

You did greta with these shots, my problem is patience and standing still and quiet I am a hyper sort of person so like to be always on the go :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60309.00
ETH 2342.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55