Nasturtium

Tropaeolum or Nasturtiums have about 80 different species of annual and perennial varieties. Similar to watercress. It's become a popular plant, but many don't know it's edible! The flowers and leaves make a great addition to any salad or stir-fry, plus a nice hint of color. The seeds are used in dressings and garnishes. The tuber it produces is edible too.
20180715_141537.jpg
Nasturtiums are also used in herbal medicine for their antiseptic and expectorant qualities. Some are good for chest colds, promotion of forming of new blood cells, and respiratory and urinary tract infections.

Sort:  

I knew about the flower, leaves and the seeds being edible, (too peppery for my taste) but the tuber is something new for me! Very good since I've seen how (unchecked) it can be almost invasive.

I never knew nasturtiums can be this medicinal..
Thanks for the information, quit impressive

Very beautiful flower 😍

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53