Colorchallenge Friday is a Blue Day

in #colorchallenge6 years ago

Cornflower blue is a lovely shade. The cornflower is one of my all time favourite 'wild-flower'.
I used to think as a child that Cornflowers were actual CORN flowers, but the name comes from the fact that it was usually growing in crop fields of wheat, rye, barley and so on, collectively known as corn fields in layman's terms years ago.

Cornflower is a natural wildflower that has a tendency to grow in hedgerows and fields and for many years was classed as a weed. What a beautiful weed!
Its flower is made up of a circle or open dome of trumpet shaped petals and the natural blue hue has been modified and colouring ranges from pale blue, to the now ornamental whites and pinks. My preference is the natural Cornflower blue.


pxhere

Agricultural herbicides almost wiped the lowly Cornflower out of existence throughout Europe, but the feisty little plant found a niche as an ornamental flower and is widely used in garden displays. Now it can be found across the world. It has also found some resistance to crop sprays and perseveres in crop seed planting to show up here and there 'in the wild.'

I hope you enjoy the pictures of the flowers as much as I do.


maxpixel

Sort:  

I love the way you have captured the fluorescent blue of the cornflower. I also learnt something new about why they are called cornflowers. Enjoyable post.

I also love cornflower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65181.06
ETH 3405.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48