Beautiful South Florida Sunset - ColorChallenge : SundayPurple

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Living in South Florida you are guaranteed a few things when it comes to weather...

1) We have two seasons: Summer and Almost Summer
2) Thunderstorms can pop-up at any time especially on hot days.
3) As the storms break around sunset - WOW, Mother Nature will put on a show!
It's almost like an apology to make up for raining out the day. :-)

~ I'm going to avoid mentioning the big windy swirling things that come by every so often so I don't jinx us this year.

Two weeks ago we had some major rainstorms here, like for daaaaaays, it felt like it would never end. But when it did, Mother Nature did not disappoint. The colors were so intense and saturated it almost looked painted up in the sky.

Sunset1.jpg

These pictures were taken on my cell phone (Samsung Galaxy S5) from the parking lot of Olive Garden. I had to wonder run around like a loon to get the best vantage point to avoid having buildings and street lights in the shot. I used the "cloudy" white balance setting on my phone to really bring out the colors.

Sunset2.jpg

I did my best on this last one to get the silhouette of the bigger trees, but since you can't adjust the exposure on a phone it got washed out, but still left a cool colorful glow through the trees.

Sunset3.jpg

Let me know what you think in the comments.

As always, please upvote this post and follow me if you like my work.

Sort:  

Wow! Fantastic pictures!! The colors you manged to get are amazing!

I especially love the explanation of the seasons of Summer and Almost Summer. Lol

The saying here in Missouri is, if you don't like the weather...give it 5 minutes! We get cold colds, hot hots, tornadoes, ice...pretty much everything but hurricanes. :P

Thank you. That's the one thing in weather on our side here, tornadoes are rare. We can plan for and run away from hurricanes. We have similar saying with rain here during the summer. You complain it's raining, wait a few minutes and the sun will be back to bake us.

These shades!

Hope you and your little one are feeling better!⭐️

Thank you. Yep, the worst part seems to be over. Going to do a light work load today so I can rest bit and get back to full strength.

Rest well sweet friend :)

So beautiful, can't wait to visit one day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51