Colorchallenge: Thursday Green - Korny Corn Knee High By 4th of July

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

Here is my first submission for Colorchallenge: ThursdayGreen

There is a saying in Iowa, Corn Central;

Knee-high by 4th of July

It's an obsolete saying nowadays, as this corn, that's in the back of my house is over my head.

I took the photo at my standing height of 5'11'' on my iPhone.

I was going to ask a farmer what the current expression is, but haven't gotten around to it.

greenthursday#1 large.jpeg

This would be the view that a person who de-tassels​ corn would have.

Edit #1 I should add that this was taken today Thursday, ​July 6th and the temp is a nice hot and humid 94 degrees F(34.4C) with 45% humidity. The heat​ index is 102 degrees F(38.88 C) which is probably a little bit cool for detasseling.
If you've​ never detasseled before the air is generally not moving too​ well in the corn rows and the humidity is a tad bit higher.

Sort:  

i like it!

Thanks. You must not be an Iowan who has detasseled corn. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66697.56
ETH 3490.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17