Color Challenge - Monday Red - Water Drops

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

Water drops make the most amazing shapes when they hit water. This session was my first experimentation with photographing falling water drops, and it was a true exercise in patience!

water1.jpg

Initially I used an eyedropper to create the water drops, but I soon discovered that it was very difficult to use the eyedropper and also control the camera.

After a lot of mucking around, I ended up filling a resealable plastic bag with water and clipping it to a mobile towel rack which I placed over a container of water. I put a pin prick into the corner of the bag and, voila! A steady stream of water drops!!!

water2.jpg

The second difficulty I ran into was lighting. I started off by using a very high powered work light. This got very hot and it felt dangerous having the cable running so close to the water. The images still came out very dark.

I changed to off camera flash which I needed to place just about on top of the water drop to get it bright enough. I only have one flash. Many water drop enthusiasts use several flashes. I had to put the flash inside a plastic bag to protect it from the splashes.

water3.jpg

Once I started using the flash, my pictures were brighter, but I had to slow down the shutter speed to 1/250. This is slow for a moving object, so some of the images aren't as sharp as I would like.

water4.jpg

To achieve the bright reflection in the water, I needed to find a colourful, brightly lit object. I used table lamps to to do the lighting.

So what was the reflected object that looks kinda like a cool superhero type of thing? Well... I must confess that it is a playing card from our set of The Wiggles snap! Can you guess which Wiggle it is?

water5.jpg

After this session, I started researching how people get those amazing shots where you see water drops colliding. I discovered that they buy a kit online that controls the water drop release speed, can release multiple water drops to create interesting effects, and the rig also controls the camera. Basically, the whole process is automated! Where is the art in that?

Happy red Monday people!

~ Seajai


Here is the ColorChallenge list by @kalemandra & @colorchallenge:

MondayRed
TuesdayOrange
WednesdayYellow
ThursdayGreen
FridaySkyblue
SaturdayIndigo
SundayPurple

Sort:  

All the water drop shots are awesome... I love the second last the most... Where the drop is fully submerged and the splash caused by the drop... Beautiful!

Thanks so much for your kind comments :)

Very interesting read. Quite a bit of fiddling and adjusting to get the right shot. Wiggles Snap!!! Who would have thought!! Nice work!!

Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It was definitely very fiddly work!

This is so beautiful, the colors the shape of the drop of water, everything comes into place. Very cool.

Thanks for your lovely comments :)

Oh wow. This is so cool. I love it!

Thanks @choogirl. I appreciate your support, as always!

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 1 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

@originalworks

Thanks @pixresteemer, you are doing an amazing job! Yes, you rock!!!

Great shots and equally great explanation of technique - good work!

This is spectacular!!! Thank you for sharing. 😀

Wow, great comment! Thanks for your feedback :)

My pleasure :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Seajai from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This is great! I like how you can see an inverted image of the snap card in the drop.

Water drop shots have always intrigued me. I think you may have inspired me to try this. Slow motion video of water drops are amazing too.

Thanks for your comment. I would love to see the results if you give it a go!

You've received an upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75