ColorChallenge - FridayBlue - On the Road in Bulgaria - The Southern Countryside and AsenovgradsteemCreated with Sketch.

This post is part of the #colorchallenge organized by @kalemandra.

I have been sporadic as well as all over the place when posting about my recent 2 1/2 month trip through Holland, Czech Republic, Hungary and Bulgaria with @brentssanders. We saw so many places in such a short time that it has shot to shit (pardon my French) my normal, organized, sequential way of telling a story. I have given up and am going to post things as I am moved to do so and I think I am the only one who will truly care about that. So...on I go!

Check out this stone mushroom we found near Beli Plast. A Bulgarian folk tale says these whimsical formations are the severed heads of four sisters who resisted the Ottomans. Neat, huh? They could just be the result of eons of weathering/erosion. You can decide for yourself but hey are very cool either way. Look for more on this interesting spot in a future post.
Stone mushroom.jpg


The is the Church of the Holy Mother of God at the Asenovgrad Fortress. It was built in the 12th & 13th centuries and is the most well preserved part of the fortress. (Look for a future post featuring more on the church.)
Asen Fortress.jpg


I found this puff ball among thorns in a quick road side stop. It was a gorgeous day for a walk in the woods...we enjoyed the warm weather and the last bits of fall colors.
Standing with giants.jpg

Previously posted at:
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008940904112

Sort:  

The third photo is amazing!

Thank you! We ended up finding some of those quiet country roads you spoke about. What a great trip!!!

What a surprise! You remember me, thank you.

Of course and you're very welcome!

Thank you, wait your future trips and posts!

You are so kind! I have so many pics to post from my 2 1/2 months in Bulgaria...there will certainly be many more posts. :)

I can not wait. This year I was only three days in Bulgaria to Sozopol. Wow, 2 1/2 month, I think you already speak...Bulgarian!

And I thought it was a lama on the first photo :p
A weird looking lama :D

LOL! A llama with a probllama! ;)

Hahahah :D

Congratulations @samanthajbarnes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Well done!!!

Thank you, Sir!

Great pics! I like your plan -- posting from the heart. It makes me happy :)

A plan to not have a plan...I like it too! Very freeing!

One of the many benefits :)

Looking nice. At first I thought that the first photo was some kind of atomic bomb explosion haha

First someone thought it was a llama and now an atomic explosion! I'm so glad to be catching peoples' attention. Thanks for your comment and upvote!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ${username} from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Lovely photos :) Thank you @samanthajbarnes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66902.20
ETH 3248.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64