Color Challenge - Thursday Green - Design on the Rocks


I'm back at the designing board again and want to share one of my new favorites. As some of you know, I create kaleidoscopic patterns from my photos. Here is what resulted from a lunch date with friends.

When you scroll to the end of the post, you will see where I started. I really love what I do because it reveals the incredible potential of the most ordinary things. Enjoy!


Olga Wine - 3.jpg
Bright, crisp, fresh, are words that come to mind when I look at this mandala. Plus, look at the depth! I don't see that every time and get pretty excited when I do!

I begin my design process with, what I call, blocks and then I expand from there in one way or another.


Olga Wine - 4.jpg
Here is the expansion of the last design...a shimmering quilt block! I could see this repeating pattern printed on so many things: scarves, table runners, shower curtains...


Olga Wine - 1.jpg
My original photo provided me with 2 excellent starting blocks...both which are visible in the last shot.

With this one, I took the expansion in another direction...


Olga Wine - 2.jpg
I smooshed things together and then went horizontal. At the moment, I think this one is my favorite but, I tend to fickle.


Olga Wine - Origin.jpg
And, finally, here is where I started...my friend's drink, on the rocks with the garden in the background. I do have a history of being obsessed with glassware. They make such gorgeous patterns!


There you have it, a day in my life. I am constantly observing, photographing and playing. I encourage you to take a closer look at your surroundings. You may be surprised by the beauty that awaits!



Happy Thursday Green to all of you! Thanks @kalemandra for keeping this #colorchallenge going!!!


Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

They almost look like gems... look Dorothy! It's the Emerald city!

They do!!! The shimmer is so delicious!

That's awesome! I'm a graphic designer myself.
Thank you for this inspiration! Next time when i'll have my Caipirinha i'll pay more attention to the details :)

Thanks! You are very welcome! What is Caipirinha?

If you ever want to use any of my designs in what you do, just let me know. Here is a link to my IG page where you can find a bunch more. https://www.instagram.com/someartisticmusings/

Congratulations @samanthajbarnes! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87