[Art] Colorchallenge Week2 - TuesdayOrange - Wings Of Sunset (StepByStep)

in #colorchallenge6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171108_000619.jpg


Whoa! It's almost the end of the day at my place and I barely made it for #TuesdayOrange! Talk about a busy day.

Hello Steemians! This is my Week 2 of Colour Challenge. This week, I decided to post my art of butterflies that I made specifically for @kalemandra's #colorchallenge. It is a set of 7 butterflies which I will be posting in the span of coming 7 days. Excited? Well, I sure am! ^^

A note about my color challenge weeks: I have decided to do the color challenge for 7 weeks altogether, probably finishing them in the coming weeks of 2k18. I'll post my art as I complete them, sticking with a unique theme for each week. This week is the butterflies!


Now, let me start by telling you how I made this. Here goes the step by step process:

  • Step 1: Pick a random butterfly image that you see somewhere or one which you want to draw. Start by sketching a very rough image of the subject. The details don't matter as much as the basic shape does, so pay attention to that.

IMG_20171106_214207.jpg


  • Step 2: Take a black pen of your desired thickness and start colouring the outer area of the butterfly. Leave spots of white to make it look more attractive.

IMG_20171106_223229.jpg


  • Step 3: In this step, I proceeded to color the butterfly. I filled the wings completely with orange. You can also see me make black spots near the bottom of the wing to give it a natural look.

IMG_20171107_203925.jpg


  • Step 4: I used brown color over the pencil sketch that I had drawn in Step1 and also used it to add shading effects on some parts. I used the eraser and started erasing the colors on the wings in a stroking manner. I erased one stroke and then the other (rather than hapzardly erasing everything). I repeated the erasing effect to all the sections and also used yellow colour to form a gradient. Finally, I used some white paint and made more spots on the wings.

IMG_20171107_233340.jpg


Aaaand that's it! That's how I finished it. Coloring the body is easy enough. Just take some brown and black and shade it in a similar way. I hope my steps were clear enough and you had a good time reading them. You can ask me any questions you have down in the comment section. I would also love to see if anyone of you decides to, or has ever drawn butterflies.

Thank you very much for visiting.
See you tomorrow with the Yellow one!
Have a great day~~ 😘😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56616.63
ETH 3026.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21