Color Challenge: Tuesday Orange -- Jewelweed

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

My first Tuesday Orange Color Challenge photo is this jewelweed bloom, being tended by a bumblebee. I don't know much about bumblebees except the ones without the white dot on their faces sting, and that according to the laws of physics, they should not be able to fly.

Jewelweed, on the other hand, is something I can tell you about. It grows rampant near the creek beside my rescue, and on the hill behind. Impatiens capensis is a medium height, stalky plant with succulent leaves and stems, and trumpet-shaped blooms that vary from yellow to orange to red, usually all on the same flower. It gets its name from the way water beads on the leaves after rain, or when it's submerged. A field of wet jewelweed can sparkle like a display of diamonds.

This is not a plant to ingest. While it isn't toxic, it can cause a grumbly tummy. It's best used as a poultice, or in any form where the leaves, stems, and flowers can be crushed to extract juices. Jewelweed is a natural antidote for poison oak. The two often grow side by side. If you think you've come in contact with the sap of poison oak or poison ivy and you see jewelweed nearby, grab a handful and rub it into the affected sites thoroughly, then wash the area thoroughly as soon as possible to remove the irritant. Jewelweed is also good as a poultice for other conditions like fungal infections, eczema, and dandruff. It is very comforting, and can relieve the itch or pain of inflamed skin.

DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

Sort:  

In my country I do not have this tree. But I'm glad I have more knowledge from your post. ^^

Hmmm @rhondak. I think I'm gonna have to talk with you if I ever write about flora effects and usages in my novel...Good stuff!

Make sure you snag some of the seed pods for Green! I grew up calling it "touch-me-not" because of the way the seeds spring when you get near them. Would spend hours as a kid popping the seed heads where ever it grew. And I knew most places I could find it reliably on my parents' land as I always needed it for the poison ivy.

How beautiful is the bee in the first picture ... Thanks a lot for this interesting info!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95