Color Challenge: Wednesday Yellow -- Io Moth

in #colorchallenge7 years ago (edited)

The quality of this photo isn't great, but the moth is so beautiful I had to share it. This is a male io moth, with large eye spots on the rear wings to frighten predators, and what looks like ancient cave paintings or even raccoon tracks on his front/top wings. The females have eye spots, too, but their front/top wings are brown.

Sort:  

:O it looks exactly like a real eyes!!

I know, right?! If I were a predator, it would probably scare me. LOL

yees hahaha

That moth is amazing. It is not very good clarity, but the color of that moth is very well

Yeah, the photo quality is atrocious. Snapped this one last summer with my Galaxy Note 4 just before it died a slow and painful death. LOL But I thought the markings and color of this moth warranted sharing anyway. Pride? I have no pride. If it's a cool critter, I'll post it even if you have to have 3D glasses to see through the blur. LOLOL

Yes, that's it! I have no pride too. Keep going!

It's just a different kind of pride! Pride in the wonder of the world around you.

What truly weird creatures moths and butterflies are.
I saw one once where when it's wings were opened it looked like an owl and when closed it looked like the head of a snake, like I said, weird.
Nice one babe

Thank you, @tremendospercy. I only wish my camera had been better. But now it is! So all is well.

jejejjeje ay that cute, looks like the look of an owl the way they make their wings.

Yes it does!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82