Color Challenge: Thursday Green -- Pandora Sphinx Moth

in #colorchallenge7 years ago

This is another lovely moth I discovered last year, the Pandora Sphinx Moth, or eumorpha pandorus. Like the last moth photo I shared, this one comes courtesy of the old phone camera I used at the time so its clarity is somewhat lacking. But WOW! Just look at the camouflage pattern and colors on this guy! His body and wing shape remind me of a fighter jet. This type of moth is common around my property. In the spring, I usually see at least one of these each evening.

Sort:  

Simply beautiful! People say moths the ugly cousin to butterflies, but they're just different kinds of beauty. Moths offer a deeper, more tranquil beauty. It goes well with the fact that they often stay in the exact same spot for hours and the same area for days. On the other hand butterflies are like ephemeral flashes of color and light.

Nice post! Upvoted.

Thank you! I am finding a strong affinity for moths, as well. We have so many types of them here . . . I stay busy googling moths all summer. We have luna moths, too--the gigantic pale green ones. I hope like heck to get a photo of one next spring.

Beautiful moth ❤he does look like a fighter pilot. I love the orange shade he's sporting!

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste, you have my vote :D greetings

What a lovely one! Sphinx moths are great but Hawk moths are my personal favorite, especially the pink ones (Elephant Hawk-moths). Do you have those where you are?

No, we don't have that particular type of hawk moth, but I googled them. They are gorgeous.

Gorgeous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04